We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The very best of rural New Zealand”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Murchison
Arizona
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The very best of rural New Zealand”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Imagine living on an idyllic farm in a small mountain town in NZ, a farm with sheep, chix, emus, deer, With someone to care for the animals that you just enjoy....That's Kiwi Park Holiday Park, and if you are fly fishing, as we do, you can stay in a lovely new cabin with all the comforts of a first class accommodation, and still enjoy the rural setting. Your hosts, Lynn and Brent Winter maintain an immaculate property, lots of trees, flowers, and great facilities so that you can enjoy whatever you want to do in Murchison, which might include fly fishing, kayaking, walking, breathing the clean fresh NZ air, or whatever...You feel immediately at home, safe, in a quite lovely kiwi environment..
We have been going there every year for over seven years since the Winters have owned Kiwi Park. There is no better accommodation in Murchison, or in much of NZ...

Room Tip: We love the cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eldichter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    34
    19
    18
    19
See reviews for
50
58
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Randers, Denmark
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Sorry to say that the facilities for women and the kitchen were very dirty on dec. 21th 2013 when I stayed at the Holiday park on a powered site. Theis was not only dirt from "yesterday". Also ducks are cute, but when they leave poo all over it is not nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danishtravelwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn W, Owner at Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
As your stay happened to be the same time as our annual Tourism Industry recognized Qualmark inspection makes this an interesting comment. Once again we were rated as a 4.5 star Park out of a potential 5 stars so very happy with that :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We have stayed in many Backpackers, motels and hotels in NZ but this was probably the most disappointing. Unlike other reviews, we did not feel very welcome. We paid for 4 people yet only received bedlinen for 2 with the expectation of paying a further amount again for the extra linen. Beds were well past their sell by date with less support than a jelly. In our case we had shared bathroom facilities which were the otherside of the block making it feel more like a camping experience especially in the middle of the night if you have young children. On the positive side, feeding the animals was lovely but certainly was not an animal show as described.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hhd911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn W, Owner at Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
We have the full range of accommodation available from Luxury Cottages, Motels, Self Contained and our Cabin block which includes the Kitchen Cabin which is what you chose to stay in. All of these units are clearly described verbally and online so no confusion arises. This unit has the double bed with linen and the bunks that require either sleeping bags or linen supplied or hired as a budget option for families. This was all clearly stated when you booked so this review is rather a surprise :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We arrived on an awful afternoon, the rain had been persistent for much of the afternoon. It was great to be able to stay at a friendly, well resourced motel. It was a shame the weather stopped us from visiting the animals-that will have to wait for another time. A very good place to stay in a motel with a lovely setting.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MutmogMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn W, Owner at Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of our property - we look forward to having you stay again :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stopped over for a night after exploring Nelson Lakes area and returning to Christchurch. The establishment is run by very friendly and welcoming owners and is very well maintained. The kids enjoyed visiting the farm animals.

We lived in a one bedroom motel unit. The facilities were decent and clean with the exception of a hint of moist smell - this might be due to genrally wet weather. The rooms were adequately equipped. We did not get to see much of the town itself but I suppose it will be a great spot to explore the region which ha a lot to offer in terms of scenic beauty and outdoor activities.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmcant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stopped in late on the 2nd Jan.
Lyn & Brent were wonderful hosts.
I had just suffered 2 days of travelling with a very sore back, tweaked in Wellington.
Lyn & Brent offered a spa suite so that I may have a bath in the hope it may help.
Sadly it did not but the accommodations were fantastic. Two rooms; 1 x king and 2 x singles.
We found the whole experience to be very pleasant and the hosts lovely.

Room Tip: Family rooms/suites are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spok3n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn W, Owner at Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for your lovely review - we remember you and your sore back and especially the smile on your face the next day after a good night. See you again some time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Picton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We camped in camper trailer for 1 night on 27/12/2013. The camp was fairly full but sites are well spread out so privacy can be maintained. The kitchen ran out of hot water by 7pm & you had to boil a few jugs of water to be able to do dishes. Same with the hot water in the ladies sinks in the bathroom - another jug of boiled water needed. Ladies showers were hot though - eventually!You are meant to get 5 minutes by inserting a 50cent coin,but by the time the hot water came through there was only about 2 mins left . Hardly long enough time to wash hair as well! We would not come back around peak holiday time. The "squillions" of ducks are a real nuscience defacating all over the place & we would not be tempted back because of this - very unhygienic with children running around barefoot.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Murchison hotels
13.6 mi away
Lake Rotoroa Lodge
Lake Rotoroa Lodge
#5 of 5 in Murchison
23 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mataki Motel
Mataki Motel
#3 of 5 in Murchison
88 reviews
0.6 mi away
Murchison Motels
Murchison Motels
#1 of 5 in Murchison
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
RiverSong Cottages
RiverSong Cottages
#6 of 6 in Murchison
56 reviews
1.5 mi away
Owen River Tavern & Motels
Owen River Tavern & Motels
#4 of 5 in Murchison
21 reviews
0.9 mi away
Murchison Lodge
Murchison Lodge
#1 of 6 in Murchison
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park

Property: Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park
Address: 170 Fairfax Street, Murchison 7007, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Murchison
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Murchison
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing