We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and comfortable”
Review of Mataki Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mataki Motel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Murchison
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Spacious and comfortable”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Booked three nights at Mataki and not disappointed. Exceptionally clean self contained unit with a full kitchen and range of equipment. Very comfortable bed, plenty of space and the owners were very helpful. Had problems with Wifi but that was sorted out during our stay. We loved Murchison, which many people overlook. An excellent place to stay and very good rates.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    31
    25
    5
    6
See reviews for
20
50
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

Had one night here while in the area for work.
I found the lady to be not very friendly and not overly helpful. Perhaps English was her second language, either that or she was mumbling and uninterested.
The room was small, bed was okay and I slept really well. Good shower, clean room. No wifi picked up in the vicinity of room 7.
From here it's a short 7 minute walk to the Hampden hotel bar. There is a fire station across the road, it would be noisy if the siren went off but they don't get called out too much.

Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Took a break for a night travelling from south and then return from north and was an more than suitable for a stop over for a mid way break. Units are small and compact but has all the facilities one needs and is handy to the shopping precinct. Was obviously quite popular as it was almost fully booked for both nights of our stay which was approximately a week apart. Had pre booked a couple of months in advance and had to pay full cost at the time. Only downfall with this is that they have a "no refund policy" should one have to cancel should anything untoward occur.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Southlandrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whakatane
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

this arrogant motellier onsold our 2 day booking even after credit card supplied.
would suggest be carefull as this motel is not a member of the motel assn,
and you will have no comeback.
motellier self rates as 4 star.
suggest you book elswhere

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Murchison hotels

Filey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We booked a small room for just the two of us and this is maybe where we went wrong. The room was tiny as was the en suite. It all looked as though it had not been refurbished for many, many years. There was no sink for washing up, just a plastic bowl. The free wifi was non existant unless I took the owners advice and sat outside reception with my laptop. This was the worst accommodation we came across on our tour. On the plus side, it was quietly located, yet an easy walk to the small town

Room Tip: Don't go for the cheapest room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aitchebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stayed here as a stop-off between Motueka and Christchurch, travelling with our 3 month old son. Having travelled up to Motueka via Kaikoura and Blenheim, we wanted to return through the Kahurangi national park and the beautiful Lewis Pass. We'd heard bad things about Springs Junction and Maruia Springs, so chose Murchison as our half-way point. It's a small town, but beautifully located amongst forested hills. We wanted somewhere clean and inexpensive, and this is exactly what we got with Mataki Motel. We had a standard unit, with a double bed, a clean en-suite bathroom and a great shower. The room wasn't palatial by any means, but served its purpose well.

What particularly struck me were the little things - such as the bucket of water and sponge/squeegee in the carpark for a much needed cleaning of our car windscreen. Simple, low-cost, but useful for guests, and showing a customer-oriented attitude lacking from many - generally larger - hotels/motels. We were unable to connect to the free WiFi - but that may have been a fault with our hardware - and had we alerted reception no doubt they would have tried to resolve the issue.

All in all, a very nice place to stay, with excellent value and customer service.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We ended up here after our booking at the local holiday park was overlooked and left us without accommodation at the start of our family holiday. While it looks a little dated from the outside we were very happy with the unit we stayed in. The bathrooms have been recently refurbished by the looks, beds are reasonably comfortable, rooms spacious and the units are clean, so great for a family stay. We felt it was pretty good value for money and if staying in Murchison again would return.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fitzy147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Murchison hotels
0.3 mi away
Murchison Motels
Murchison Motels
#1 of 5 in Murchison
57 reviews
0.4 mi away
RiverSong Cottages
RiverSong Cottages
#6 of 6 in Murchison
56 reviews
1.3 mi away
Owen River Tavern & Motels
Owen River Tavern & Motels
#4 of 5 in Murchison
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Murchison Lodge
Murchison Lodge
#1 of 6 in Murchison
54 reviews
13.8 mi away
Lake Rotoroa Lodge
Lake Rotoroa Lodge
#5 of 5 in Murchison
23 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mataki Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mataki Motel

Property: Mataki Motel
Address: 34 Hotham Street | P.O. Box 54 Murchison, Murchison 7007, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Murchison
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Murchison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mataki Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mataki Motel offers clean and comfortable accommodation at an affordable price. 16 self-contained units: • 12 units sleep 1-3 • 4 family units sleep 1-6 • All non-smoking units • Serviced daily ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Mataki Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing