We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beaut farm stay, with yummy food & welcoming hosts!”
Review of Awapiriti Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Murchison
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Awapiriti Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Murchison B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We were a group of three including my dad, and my 21 month old daughter. I found Awapiriti Lodge at the last minute after deciding to return to Christchurch via Murchison.

From the first moment Maudie & Dean made us feel very welcome in their home. They took my active little one in their stride, and even had some children's DVD's & books on hand.

We ate dinner both nights with our hosts. Meals were good & the deserts even better. Maudie cooking largely with home grown or local fresh ingredients

There was also a wine selection available and Deans home brew, which kept Dad happy.

The breakfast feast included toast, home made jams and cereals plus made to order hot breakfast.

My daughter loved the animals (deer, pig, dogs & a ram.. we didn't see the chooks), and we all enjoyed the company of Maudie & Dean.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelswithmirra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
There are newer reviews for Awapiriti Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

What a wonderful retreat this is, wish we had time to stay longer. Maudie and Dean were great hosts. Venison stew and nashi and rhubarb crumble for dinner. Yum. Breakfast was abundant and delicious. Rooms great, even if the ensuites are a tad small. Gardens glorious.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mich E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

A last minute organised stay which wasn't a problem to get organised. UNfortunately were too late for dinner, but Dean's beer collection was the best substitute. Amazing home-made beers. Clean and warm. Fully catered for. Varied breakfast with fresh juices and home-made just about everything. Humble hosts and honest, down-to-earth people. Ideal one-night stay on the way South.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FraserJGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

A deer farm tucked away about 15 km from Murchison with a lovely garden and orchard. The bedroom was pristine and quaint with doors opening to the garden. Breakfast was superb with venison sausages, Boris bacon and homemade jams with a selection of teas served on beautiful crockery. The attention to detail was clearly evident and the company extremely pleasant.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Maudie and Dean made us feel very welcome at their lovely farm. We stayed with our little boy, and he loved seeing all the animals and got to pick fresh raspberries to go with his breakfast. We ate Maudie's delicious cooked dinner both nights, the puddings in particular were excellent. Boris wasn't in the mood to talk much when we stayed, but he did taste delicious. Would heartily recommend to friends staying in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RnB__UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We stayed in this B&B family home on our 4 week honeymoon touring NZ. This B&B is well hidden from the main road and accessed via, at first glance, appears to be an old wooden bridge, this leads onto a large open expanse of land with a track leading to the property where there is ample parking. We were met by host Maudie, who I have to say is an absolute diamond! Dean her husband is equally as lovely and has a wicked sense of humour. The house itself is very comfortable where it is easy to make yourself at home in a comfortable guest lounge where you can shut yourself off if you so wish. We stayed in the smaller of the 2 bedrooms but we still had plenty of space and had 3 good nights sleep in the peaceful surroundings. A big plus for us was the animals on the farm, you must visit Boris the adoreable pig, he nearly came home with us! The breakfasts were gorgeous and kept you going well past lunchtime. There is scope to walk around the land and you are approximately 16km away from the town of Murchison (you must do the whitewater rafting with Ultimate Descents......Awesome!) We would defintely recommend this B&B. Thanks again Maudie & Dean. xx

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms, both are well appointed but no air con.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Den2773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Now this is a real find. A farm tucked away on its own, 16k out of Murchison, reached by its own bridge across the Maruia river, and with complete tranquility and wonderful mountain scenery. And a wonderful welcome from Maudie and Dean, a couple who clearly love having guests in their home. You might also get to meet the two dogs, Belle and Digby, as well as a pig called Boris.

It was Belle who gave us the first taste of Awapiriti hospitality by leaping into the car as soon as I opened the door and greeting me so enthusiastically that my light trousers were covered in muddy pawprints. Maudie to the rescue – she straight away washed and dried the trousers while I relaxed with a glass of Dean’s home-brewed beer.

She had offered to cook dinner and even coped with my wife’s dietary oddities. I had brought wine of my own but found a better bottle instead in their own selection. Dinner was the kind of occasion you dream of when you’re travelling around on the road, with Maudie and Dean joining us for a family sitdown full of happy conversation and fun. We had a really terrific meal, climaxing in Maudie’s superb bread and butter pudding. A knockout.

The next morning, she had already been out picking fruit for our breakfast, at which the eggs came fresh from the hens who had strutted past our bedroom window.

A really individual stay, with a delightful couple. I can’t recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thehare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Murchison hotels
5.1 mi away
Murchison Motels
Murchison Motels
#1 of 5 in Murchison
58 reviews
5.0 mi away
Mataki Motel
Mataki Motel
#3 of 5 in Murchison
90 reviews
5.4 mi away
Murchison Lodge
Murchison Lodge
#1 of 6 in Murchison
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Owen River Tavern & Motels
Owen River Tavern & Motels
#4 of 5 in Murchison
21 reviews
5.0 mi away
Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park
5.1 mi away
RiverSong Cottages
RiverSong Cottages
#6 of 6 in Murchison
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Awapiriti Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awapiriti Lodge

Address: 560 Shenandoah Highway SH 65, Murchison 7049, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Murchison
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Murchison
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our delightful B&B is situated on 116 hectares of farmland and native bush, beside the Maruia River (one of the best brown trout fly-fishing rivers in NZ) and backing onto a National Park. The house is nestled under Higgins Bluff and is set in an extensive garden setting. We grow our own vegetables and have free range hens which provide us with beautiful eggs. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing