We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lazy Cow Backpackers
Nearby Hotels
Mataki Motel(Murchison)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Murchison Motels(Murchison)
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Owen River Tavern & Motels(Murchison)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$101
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Lodge(Saint Arnaud)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
66
10
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
10
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewselectric blanketsprivate roomwell equipped kitchenfree beerrestaurant next doorbest pizzafree muffinswelcomed warmlyliving arealittle extrasnice showerpizza restauranton arrivalnew zealanda great stayone night stayhome away from home
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Specially if you go at the wintertime, is perfect, warm, and every beds have electric blanket.
The owners are the most kindly people.
Clean, tidy and comfortable, you also can watch movies and eat great caked hand made.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We ended up at the Lazy Cow after the pass was closed and - in the freezing weather - decided to splash out on a room instead of another night in the campervan. It was only $74 for a double, which was a steal. The place was warm and welcoming, with a wood burner and a huge selection of DVDs, as well as some free (but limited time) wi-fi. The hosts were great and really looked after us - we were sorry to leave, but happy we'd found the place! Murchison doesn't have much happening, but if you need a decent place to stay and fancy a change from a campervan, it's worth coming here - especially in winter!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparkyrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

This place was amazing. We stayed by accident as we thought Murchison was where the Nelson Lakes originated from, but fell in love with the Lazy Cow. Great hospitality. Cake on arrival (well needed after a long day of driving), and a great home cooked meal (we had the cow Pie, which I highly recommend)! Good log fire and electric blankets! would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willmadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

wonderful place to stay - a family of 5 of us. Fantastic accommodation - clean and warm, cosy and friendly - definitely recommend to others and would absolutely stay ourselves again and again. Be sure to visit for a real 'kiwi' type experience of home... including homemade baking to greet you with... thanks for having us - we loved it and aspire to be similar - from the Arawa Lodge family in Ohakune NZ

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArawaLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed here for just one night (sadly) to break up the drive from Abel Tasman down to Franz Josef Glacier. This was our favourite accommodation in our whole month's trip in NZ. Makes a great stop over, whether you are staying in the area or just breaking up the drive.

Rooms are very clean, tidy and extremely cosy with electric blankets for the winter months. The shared bathroom was right next to our room, very clean, powerful hot shower and bath.

Communal living room and kitchen allows for a social environment with games and DVDs for free.

Hosts, Phil and Ali, are so friendly and helpful, offering the best home cooked meal, even late at night, for a great price, fresh eggs from their chickens for breakfast and home cooked muffins for free for the road! Feels much more like a homestay than a hostel.

Cannot speak highly enough of this place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PMac_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews