We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best backpackers of our travels! 10/10”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Murchison
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lazy Cow Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Really loved our time at the Lazy Cow, from the warm welcome from Ryan and Christine, to the free and unbelievably delicious cake aswell as the puzzles and DVDs to chill out with, couldn't ask for more in a hostel.
We had passed through Murchison before not knowing much about the place but once we decided to stay here at the Lazy Cow we realised there's much more to Murchison than its given credit for. Its really a hidden gem, and this backpackers was a great place to base ourselves while we explored the local activities and walks.
They have a lovely friendly little cat (always a plus in a backpackers) and a great garden to soak up the sun. We didn't try the pizza oven they had in the garden but definately will on our next visit.
Its a lovely unique hostel with just a few rooms so never feels crowded, its definately worth stopping in here even if Murchison wasn't previously on your agenda.

They also have a restaurant there too that we tried, 3 delicious courses for 40dollars, big portions too so we left with happy bellies!

Thoroughly enjoyed our time here, would highly recommend a visit!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank CatW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

The Lazy Cow Back Packers and Cafe - its really worth going out of your way for. We had a lovely room leading on to the deck which included an en suite bathroom. The chocolate cake was delicious and a really treat to have with a late lunch.
However the best was yet to come - dinner at the cafe behind the back packers, a wonderful three course meal which would revile any gastro pub meal in the UK. Excellent value for a stunning meal. Will definitely make sure Murchison is one of our stopping places on our next trip down south and will ring to ensure it is a night when the cafe is open.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZ3216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Most people probably use Murchison as a stopover just as I did. The more suprising it is to find such a gem there! The Lazy Cow is nice and clean and offers a HUGE bathroom (which is fairly rare at hostels) with lovely owners.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerstin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The Lazy Cow might just be the main attraction of tiny Murchison: as hotels go, this one is the best so far, and the chances that I will like another one better are really small. Like Murchison itself, the hostel is small. In fact, it obviously used to be someone's home that has been converted to a hostel. It is located right in the centre of Murchison (if such a tiny place even has a centre), and there are cafes and restaurants in easy walking distance.

The rooms were extremely comfortable and painted in warm colours. Every bed had an electric blanket, there were heaters in every room and the common room featured a fireplace, so no matter the season, you will never get cold here.

The bathrooms were perfectly clean and spacious, more like your bathroom at home than the usual hostel shower cubicles.

The kitchen was extremely well-equipped with a selection of free spices and herbs and free cooking oil as well as free tea and coffee. For 50 cents, you could get an egg from the chickens living in the backyard. Upon arrival, I got a free home-made muffin (which was very delicious). The whole place is decorated with cows, there is a whole wall covered in drawings (again, mostly of cows) from previous guests, and the toilet seat even has a 3D cow on it!

Aside from the usual facilities, this hostel also offers a deck with a BBQ and a big garden out the back.

The welcome was very warm and everyone at the hostel was extremely friendly. I loved my stay here, it felt more like staying with friends than like a hostel. The atmosphere was very personable and warm, everything was clean and well-maintained. The bed (and everything else) was very comfortable. This was definitely my favourite hostel so far! The only (tiny) drawback: like in many hostels in New Zealand, you have to pay for your internet.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We had the only remaining room available for us as we were a late check in - the double with en suite. Up to the highest standard of a top motel. Loved the cake and the outlook. Ali was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Great hostel, super comfy with all the features of home (and the best wood burning stove) and a real homely feel to it. It is very different to some of the huge hostels you stay at around NZ and therefore much more personable. The owners are great and super friendly, cannot recommend it enough!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Unplanned stop on the way to Nelson; Murchison held little promise but hope springs from the most unexpected of places. Welcoming staff and a beautiful room with warm colours, wicked electric blankets, and wonderful furnishings.

The kitchen was full of cow-character, the dining room covered in cow drawings and the lounge offering more puzzles than any mind could truly comprehend.

The bathroom even had a spa-bath and sneaky-holographic-cow toilet seat.

All sorts of positive!

Room Tip: We got the Ambrosia room. Verry nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jadiejuju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Murchison hotels
0.1 mi away
Murchison Motels
Murchison Motels
#1 of 5 in Murchison
58 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mataki Motel
Mataki Motel
#3 of 5 in Murchison
92 reviews
0.1 mi away
RiverSong Cottages
RiverSong Cottages
#6 of 6 in Murchison
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Murchison Lodge
Murchison Lodge
#1 of 6 in Murchison
54 reviews
1.2 mi away
Owen River Tavern & Motels
Owen River Tavern & Motels
#4 of 5 in Murchison
21 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Cow Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Cow Backpackers

Address: 37 Waller Street, Murchison 7007, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Murchison
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Murchison
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing