We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Owen River Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Mataki Motel(Murchison)
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Murchison Motels(Murchison)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Owen River Tavern & Motels(Murchison)(Great Value!)
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Lodge(Saint Arnaud)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveller rating
265
0
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
265
0
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschef ryanowen riverfly fishingbrown troutother guestshis teamworld classattention to detailfive starnew zealandsouth islandfishing experienceguided fishinggreat fishingbucket listdays fishingour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 267 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2013

6 of us stayed with Felix and enjoyed top class accommodation, attentive hosts, quality Sage fishing equipment and excellent food.
Nothing was too much trouble and the overall experience rates very well on a world scale.
Chris

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

My wife and I stayed with Felix at Owen River Lodge during a portion of our three week honeymoon to New Zealand. The lodging was intimate and prisine, the meals prepared on-site by Ryan rival any 5 star city restaurant and the fishing was spectacular. After spending three weeks in New Zealand and sharing stories and pictures, family and friends often ask of the most memorable time and the answer is consitently our time spent at Owen River Lodge. As an avid fly fisher and my wife a non fly fisher Owen River Lodge provided a truly unique option that resulted in an excptional stay for both of us to share.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We had a great time at ORL. I can't add much to previous reviews though. Great lodge, fantastic food, we really liked our guide, Paul, and we had many rivers to choose from nearby. A special treat was the perfectly clear nights and looking at the stars. I have never seen so many stars, planets and comets in years and this was great, I could do it for hours. Felix was the perfect host, smart, funny, very aware of his guests needs and wants and makes everything easy for the stay. My main point is this - we will be going back to ORL as soon as possible, and we have stayed at a few lodges in NZ. This is the one for us. Oh, and we also want to catch that elusive trophy, maybe next time! One more thing, it is a great experience meeting the other guests who roll in and out as you are there, good people (aren't all fly fishers good though?).

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

My wife and I visited Owen river Lodge early last year and couldn't wait to get back after our exceptional stay. We returned for our second trip over New Years this year. Felix and his staff continue to provide a first class experience. From the fishing to Ryan's cuisine to the lodging, it couldn't have been better. We will return next year.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Owen River Lodge was our first fishing lodge experience - ever, anywhere. It sure beats B&Bs and bush huts!

The Lodge was absolutely fantastic. Felix and the team were superb - welcoming and helpful without being over the top. Facilities are first class and the food (and NZ pinot noir) were high end restaurant quality (thanks Ryan!). Whilst focus is on the great trout fishing in rivers nearby Helen enjoyed relaxing at the Lodge and touring in this beautiful part of the world.

We have booked again for next year.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook a field and the Owen river. There isn't a bad room!
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews