We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic place to stay”
Review of Owen River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Murchison
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Owen River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic place to stay”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We stayed for a few days in January. Everything about the experience was fantastic. The rooms are not only extremely comfortable but elegantly appointed and so clean that hospitals would be envious. The views from the room are nothing short of spectacular and rivalled only by the peace and quiet. Ryan's cuisine is not only Michelin exquisite but beautifully presented. No request was ever a problem and the owners -- Felix and his lovely lab Keeley -- were an absolute delight.

Room Tip: Any one of the rooms would be perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
108
38
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We have both stayed in great NZ fishing lodges and fished the South Island previously . Felix and Owen River Lodge exceeded our high expectations both on the quality of the Lodge and in the fishing experience . We found the accommodation to be excellent and the food and ambience in the main lodge to be of the highest quality . Felix has obviously imbued his team with a service culture designed to ensure a relaxed and enjoyable guest experience . Nothing is too much trouble and details are paid attention to with the minimum of fuss . Chef Ryan and the rest of the kitchen and table service team delivered meals of the highest quality with innovation and variety . Each evening, we felt like we were attending a dinner party at a friends house. The guided fishing was a classic South Island brown trout experience and we found our guide to be highly competent , friendly and tolerant . He was a pleasure to spend time with and successfully put us on many fish with Cathy landing a personal best .

Room Tip: All of the rooms are of equally high quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

I travelled the world on business, staying in many of the world's great hotels and have stayed in more than a few top fishing lodges. Having lived in Paris for many years, I appreciate good food. Owen River Lodge combines the highest quality of accomodation, cuisine and ambiance with incomparable fly fishing for large brown trout. The cuisine is 2 star Michelin quality and rooms are fantastic, but above all it is a wonderful place for fishers to share experiences with each other and guides at the bar after a long day on the river, followed by very enjoyable dinners with other guests, ably and warmly hosted by Felix, the lodge owner.

Room Tip: All six rooms are great and basically identical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curtis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, California
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Our group of 6 had the pleasure of staying at Owen River lodge in January 2013. The 3 women in the group were a bit skeptical about a 5 day stay at a fishing lodge. Let me say that the owner Felix and his staff go above and beyond to make sure everyone has a fantastic vacation. The men in the group commented that it was some of the "best fishing ever." The individual cabins for guests are absolutely incredible with fantastic views of the river and mountains. Chef Ryan's meals and Felix' wine selection are second to none. We look forward to our next Owen River lodge visit. This is a MUST when you are visiting New Zealand. Lori

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

my wife and i recently visited owen river lodge. although i don't have the stats, i expect that the majority of guests are from australia. u.s. or canadian visitors are taking on a whole different commitment in terms of travel time and expenses. also, comparable fishing experiences for us yankees are likely to be montana or alaska or something similar. i've fished both those places many times and owen river isn't comparable.
first, the lodge, the food and the attention to detail could not be better. the cabins are very nice; plenty of room, very clean and comfortable. the food is top notch restaurant quality. felix is a unique guy and a very good host...as well as a good businessman.
simply put, the fishing is not easy. its not a place for beginning fly fisherman although under the right conditions, even a novice might catch a fish or two. however, these are all wild fish...big and spooky. the water can be crystal clear and you're sight casting to most fish. you can see them but they can also see you. there are some easy "beats" but many are not so easy to wade or walk. you're going to work for fish but its well worth the effort. like most fishing, it is going to be weather dependent. although i struggled, it was one of if not the best pure fishing experiences i've had.
my wife didn't fish even though she has done quite a lot of fishing. she had no problem whatsoever enjoying herself at the lodge with the dog, other non fishing guests and several massages. its a beautiful and relaxing setting. one of the true highlights for us was meeting and interacting with the other guests. of course, the fishing stories get better after a few glasses of wine at dinner.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2013

6 of us stayed with Felix and enjoyed top class accommodation, attentive hosts, quality Sage fishing equipment and excellent food.
Nothing was too much trouble and the overall experience rates very well on a world scale.
Chris

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2013

My wife and I stayed with Felix at Owen River Lodge during a portion of our three week honeymoon to New Zealand. The lodging was intimate and prisine, the meals prepared on-site by Ryan rival any 5 star city restaurant and the fishing was spectacular. After spending three weeks in New Zealand and sharing stories and pictures, family and friends often ask of the most memorable time and the answer is consitently our time spent at Owen River Lodge. As an avid fly fisher and my wife a non fly fisher Owen River Lodge provided a truly unique option that resulted in an excptional stay for both of us to share.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murchison
21.8 mi away
Alpine Lodge
Alpine Lodge
#1 of 1 in Saint Arnaud
235 reviews
11.5 mi away
Mataki Motel
Mataki Motel
#3 of 5 in Murchison
88 reviews
11.3 mi away
Murchison Motels
Murchison Motels
#1 of 5 in Murchison
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Murchison Lodge
Murchison Lodge
#1 of 6 in Murchison
54 reviews
11.2 mi away
RiverSong Cottages
RiverSong Cottages
#6 of 6 in Murchison
56 reviews
23.5 mi away
Tophouse Historic Guesthouse Cafe & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Owen River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owen River Lodge

Property: Owen River Lodge
Address: 173 Owen Valley East Road, Murchison 7077, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Murchison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Murchison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Owen River Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owen River Lodge is New Zealand's finest 5 star rated fly fishing lodge. Luxurious, warm and inviting ambiance. Stylish, understated accommodation located right on the Owen River in the South Island of New Zealand. Come and enjoy the stunning food, superb service and outstanding fishing. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing