We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Small Town”
Review of Murchison Motels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Murchison Motels
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Murchison
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very Small Town”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

1 night here at this Hotel. Stayed in a studio along side 3 others. Yes lacked any Garden or Greenery but for for an overnight stay the room was clean and the bed comfy. Just shut the bathroom door of a night as we were woken up in the morning with the noise of the man doing his bathroom duties next door. Little embarrassing. I think they have nicer rooms around the corner but they were booked out. Note the Antique Shop 2 doors away is a great way to spend a few hours and the cafe shop next to that has great coffee. The studio's are OK for a quick overnight stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    19
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
35
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We were booked for two nights but due to finishing business early we ended up only staying the one night. Bit disappointed it was only the one as this was a very well presented motel. The layout meant it seemed like we weren't in the next tenants pockets. There was a pool/picnic area, and the gardens were well landscaped in native plants. The motel itself was so fabulous! What a treat to have a king sized bed! The bathroom was something else - spacious, clean and very classy.
We arrived late but were still graciously received. Gets the total thumbs up from me.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kidlesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The town centre location is convenient for most restaurants and stores. Our welcome was friendly and helpful. We booked a studio. On the downside, the complex will never win an architectural award and there was too much tarmac and not enough greenery for our liking. But who worries too much about that at the end of a long day? Our unit was modern, spacious, beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean. Well worth paying that bit extra.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank suffolkcodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katoomba Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We bowled in here, very late and exhausted from tramping, expecting nothing from this remote town, and asked for the most basic offering. We were blown away to walk into a lovely room and, especially, by the gorgeous bathroom. This place is stylish and has many little touches that make it special (including locally-made toiletries, nice crockery, an abundance of pillows and the facility to cook in if you need to). Reception was extremely friendly as well. This is a great place to base yourself if you are exploring the area or heading to Lewis Pass or the Coast.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrNaomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murchison, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Had a wonderful stay, in very clean well appointed motels. Situated close to the town with cafe's and rivers, walks all close by. The people very helpful when wanting to know about Mutchison, places to go and what walks, fishing etc was including some clue to local fishing spots. These motels are comfortable, are of a modern style and at a price that is standard throughout the country

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peaky_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
206 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Great big rooms, fantastic water pressure. Pool needs some work, but was too cold to use when we were there anyway.
What did suprise us when we arrived was that the owner knew how long we were staying but did not know which standard of room we had booked, so we had to show our confirmation email !!
We thought that was just a hiccup with the computer, but when we came to check out 2 days later, we again had to produce the email to show that we had paid, as the owner did not know whether we had paid or not - weird.

Just a tip - Murchison is not the place to stay on New Years Eve :-)

Room Tip: Avoid room 1 next to the laundry
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff_Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frimley, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Booked to stay at this motel, long ago - based on TripAdvisor and other reviews.
The motel is a decent standard for a motel in New Zealand, room size is good, bathroom/wetroom was more than adequate.
We were a bit disappointed by the information provided at check-in, either about the room or things to do in the local area, but I guess you expect motel owners to spend their time promoting local attractions.
Strangely only "wired" internet access is offered in the rooms. Great if you have a PC/Mac etc, but for tablet or phone users, wired internet access is no use. Please fix this for 2014 !!
As we'd arrived early-ish at the motel, we quite fancied using the swimming pool, but decided not to, as it was pretty obvious that it hadn't been cleaned for quite a while (see photo).
Over all, good motel, but could do better.

Room Tip: Beware of rooms next to the laundry (i.e room 1)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickGates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Murchison hotels
13.3 mi away
Lake Rotoroa Lodge
Lake Rotoroa Lodge
#5 of 5 in Murchison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mataki Motel
Mataki Motel
#3 of 5 in Murchison
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.1 mi away
Owen River Tavern & Motels
Owen River Tavern & Motels
#4 of 5 in Murchison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Murchison Lodge
Murchison Lodge
#1 of 6 in Murchison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.1 mi away
RiverSong Cottages
RiverSong Cottages
#6 of 6 in Murchison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kiwi Park Motels and Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murchison Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murchison Motels

Property: Murchison Motels
Address: 53 Fairfax St., Murchison 7049, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Murchison
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Murchison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Murchison Motels 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within a few steps of Murchison's eclectic selection of pubs, cafes and restaurants. Murchison Motelsis the perfect place to rest for a night or stay for a week. Our new studio units are decorated in clean uncluttered style, with bathrooms to relax in and beds to dream in. Our family units offer fully self-contained comfort for old and young, with full kitchen facilities and generous bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Murchison Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing