We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just for coffee”
Review of Beechwoods Cafe

Beechwoods Cafe
Ranked #5 of 14 Restaurants in Murchison
Price range: US$6 - US$15
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast
mold
Level 6 Contributor
558 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“just for coffee”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

good cup of flat white after a long drive down route 6.

could see it was good as all the locals seemed to be using it

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechwoodsMurchison, Owner at Beechwoods Cafe, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Glad you enjoyed your coffee - we have undergone a lot of staff training in this area, so pleased to offer you a good experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    57
    19
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Golden bay
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you want fine dinning then give this place a miss”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

However if you want a large selection of simple well priced food served hot with a smile you can't go wrong with this place my group of 8 were well impressed..

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chrisGoldenbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechwoodsMurchison, Owner at Beechwoods Cafe, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thanks for your feedback - we are glad you were happy with service and food. Our market is middle of the road travellers who want wholesome filling food at a reasonable price. We do also offer a more formal dining experience for pre-booked groups only if you are ever interested.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden Bay, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Best hotcakes ever”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Food was lovely. Had the hotcakes which extremely good value. Coffee was bitter. Might need to clean machine a bit more often

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank melcur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechwoodsMurchison, Owner at Beechwoods Cafe, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thanks for the hotcakes compliment - certainly one of our more popular menu items. As for the coffee, I am sorry to hear of your experience as this is something we are trying to get right. Your feedback has been shared with our team and we have put a more regimented cleaning process in place. We would be happy to compensate you with a complimentary coffee next time you are passing through - just ask for management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pancakes”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stopped here for breakfast after our over night stay.
Partner had Omelette and i had the pancakes.
Partners comment was this is very nice and tasty.
My pancakes were lovely......a large jug of maple syrup ( suspect it maple flavoured and not the real Canadian) was provided along with apples, grapes ,orange and kiwifruit. Served with a large dollop of cream.

We stopped off for a bite to eat on our return trip through to Hanmer Springs and were disappointed. Partner had a Pie, and I had a Savoury Muffin.
The pie was obviously pre frozen and mainly gravy. the savoury muffin was OK

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thermalbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechwoodsMurchison, Owner at Beechwoods Cafe, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thanks for your feedback, which has been shared with our kitchen staff. During the summer months, we were buying pies in and I suspect this was one you had. We are now making a lot more of the pies on site and this way we can ensure fresh filling ingredients are used. All other food items are made on site and fresh. We are glad you enjoyed your breakfast items and hope you continue to find the food to your standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga NZ & Sitka AK
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great stopping place”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Excellent food; eat indoors or outside. Lots of food choices -- something for everyone. Carrot cake especially delicious & soup of the day has been outstanding every time we've stopped at the Beechwoods (at least a dozen times & counting!).

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Local-knowledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechwoodsMurchison, Owner at Beechwoods Cafe, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for sharing - we are glad you are enjoying your Beechwood experiences!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beechwoods Cafe also viewed

Murchison, Nelson-Tasman Region
Murchison, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Murchison, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Beechwoods Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing