We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unhappy place”
Review of Beechwoods Cafe

Beechwoods Cafe
Ranked #9 of 14 Restaurants in Murchison
Price range: US$6 - US$15
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Cafe/Restaurant providing takeaway cabinet food and drinks as well as sit down meals. Suits travellers for convenient quick service, and large car park facilities on the main road.
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Miserable staff, most of the food cabinets half empty, probably due to the line of buses that were just leaving.

Thank airbus0320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechwoodsMurchison, Manager at Beechwoods Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Sorry to hear your concerns. Unfortunately the buses do clear the food cabinets very quickly, however we have kitchen staff preparing fresh food all day so that the cabinets can be regularly topped up and that way the food is kept as fresh as possible. We also make fresh food to order should there not be something available that you feel like, please ask. We have shared your feedback with our team to endeavour to continue to improve the customer experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 164 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

This was a very welcoming and spacious cafe with great service from all staff. I ordered the hot cakes and when they arrived I nearly fell off my chair as you had a massive portion, but they were so tasty, and I managed to eat them all! Thank you for a great experience!

Thank elan_davies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechwoodsMurchison, Owner at Beechwoods Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Great to hear you enjoyed them, they seem to be a very popular menu item!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

good cup of flat white after a long drive down route 6.

could see it was good as all the locals seemed to be using it

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechwoodsMurchison, Owner at Beechwoods Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Glad you enjoyed your coffee - we have undergone a lot of staff training in this area, so pleased to offer you a good experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

However if you want a large selection of simple well priced food served hot with a smile you can't go wrong with this place my group of 8 were well impressed..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chrisGoldenbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechwoodsMurchison, Owner at Beechwoods Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thanks for your feedback - we are glad you were happy with service and food. Our market is middle of the road travellers who want wholesome filling food at a reasonable price. We do also offer a more formal dining experience for pre-booked groups only if you are ever interested.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Food was lovely. Had the hotcakes which extremely good value. Coffee was bitter. Might need to clean machine a bit more often

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank melcur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechwoodsMurchison, Owner at Beechwoods Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thanks for the hotcakes compliment - certainly one of our more popular menu items. As for the coffee, I am sorry to hear of your experience as this is something we are trying to get right. Your feedback has been shared with our team and we have put a more regimented cleaning process in place. We would be happy to compensate you with a complimentary coffee next time you are passing through - just ask for management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beechwoods Cafe also viewed

Murchison, Nelson-Tasman Region
Murchison, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Murchison, Nelson-Tasman Region
Murchison, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Beechwoods Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing