We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very impressed - great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wrinkly Ram

The Wrinkly Ram
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Omarama
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Wrinkly Rams café is the place to stop for weary travellers seeking refreshment. With clean toilets, espresso coffee, and fresh homemade food you can enjoy a break from your travels. We have Free Wi-Fi available for customers and there's hot chocolates, milkshakes and ice creams for the kids. We welcome your next visit.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very impressed - great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Coming from Lake Tekapo we stopped in for lunch. Lots of space for the camper van and we arrived there before it got too busy. The soups were so yummy, the burger best ever & BLT is highly recommended from the teenager. Definitely stop in if you get the chance - great service & lots on offer.

Helpful?
Thank VeeNZed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    97
    17
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good food in a good place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Staying nearby I enjoyed several excellent capuchino's and one excellent salmon fillet and salad lunch at this restaurant. I thought the staff team were very professional and helpful. The associated tourist gift shop was of a higher standard than many and well worth a look.
I would thoroughly recommend as a good stopping place for a quick pleasant break.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GrahamChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
248 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Fine for Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

A good place to stop for lunch on your way from Queenstown to Mount Cook.

The food is OK and they have cakes and snacks.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EssexRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Love this place for a lunch stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Situated in a stunning location with fabulous views. Plenty of seating indoors and out, fast and friendly service (I had a lamb shanks meal which arrived in around 5 minutes and was just fabulous. So fabulous, two of my travelling companions then ordered the same!) Incidentally the lamb shanks cost under $20, which is good value in anyone's book!

There's also a very nice souvenir/clothing shop attached which is pleasant to browse as a break on a long road trip. I'll definitely plan this place into my next drive near Mt Cook and Twizel - it's hard to beat.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Nice to walk in and feel the warmth of this place and the food was great and the staff very pleasant. Will call in again

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wrinkly Ram also viewed

Omarama, Canterbury Region
Omarama, Canterbury Region
 
Omarama, Canterbury Region
Omarama, Canterbury Region
 
Omarama, Canterbury Region
Twizel, Mackenzie District
 

Been to The Wrinkly Ram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing