We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, staff & meals”
Review of Countrytime Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Countrytime Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Omarama
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We were on a 10 day trip celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary. The location, the food, the staff, were superb. Yes, it is tired and in need of refurbishment, but it was absolutely clean, tidy & spacious. The meals (breakfasts & dinners) were excellent. The staff were sooooo helpful and friendly. We had a lot to do with Shona & Michelle who were superb as were the other staff...

Can't speak highly enough of the hotel and staff...

Good to see the hotel is in the process of being updated...

Go gliding with the gliding club next door for an extraordinary experience!

Room Tip: Get a room facing the ranges for a fabulous view. We also got an adjoining extra room which gave us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TerrySenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 84 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

I stayed there for nearly three weeks, standards never slipped despite being very busy. The rooms were clean and tidy, consistently good food, the staff were always friendly.
Great views towards the Benmore ranges and lots of room to park. Close to town, maybe all of five minutes walk away.
Being winter, the hotel was always comfortably warm inside, fires going every night.
Free wireless in the lounge, reception and dining area was a boon too.
OK, its a 1980s era hotel but well maintained in that everything works, showers are hot, no loose carpets, threadbare walkways etc. It takes a lot to maintain a hotel of this size and age, they are up to the task in most areas.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnboyMosgiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We like the country style. The grounds is spacious and so are the rooms. The place is clean and it has everything that we needed. The food is good. It has the best blue cod fish and chip in the country and the freshest salad. Generally the food is very good all round and it is not too expensive. Sure, you can get cheaper food elsewhere but the quality is no where as good.
The staff are very friendly and helpful.

We thoroughly enjoyed our one week stay at the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the car park and facing the mountains in the west
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kwok F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed a night at this hotel after driving around town. It was $99/night and included continental breakfast.

The hotel is very old but comfortable enough. Our TV worked, our room was clean (although very ugly brown-colored theme from the 70's is funny) and the woman on staff was very friendly.

Our only problems were that building construction being done woke us up at 7:30am.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wdjmNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Like the previous reviewer, we were concerned going here after reading the reviews , but we had a great time. Okay the place is a little dated and in need of refurbishment, but the rooms were spacious and the staff were very friendly and looked after us well. There was a lovely lounge with a roaring fire, a cosy bar and a very obliging manager who went out of his way to ensure we were looked after. Breakfast was adequate, as was the evening meal. The price was very reasonable. Our room was clean, and was serviced daily. The dining room appeared clean. I think this is a great place, especially for large groups.

Room Tip: If you have any mobility problems you need ground floor rooms as there are no lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TripMember051220151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Was a bit concerned staying here after seeing the reviews... but when we first arrived I was relieved!
nice setting, nice entrance.... ok dated fittings, but well kept.
BUT!! a pair of underpants beside the tv???? (I'm guessing cleaner found them, tossed them aside and forgot about them...)
also ice cream in the fridge?
But apart from that, good size room, good supplies...

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smiliekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We stayed one night. Couldnt stand more. The whole hotel is poorly run. Public areas and rooms are very dirty. Mould, dirt, and stains on carpets and bedding.
The carpeted bathrooms floors you really dont want walk on !! Moldy and stained !
The manager and staff seem totally uninterested. Dirty plates, glasses etc left untouch for hours on tables.The whole place is a health hazard !
Bad sleep because of a low frequency humming fan/motor noise through walls. This was heard from by all 3 of our rooms.
Sad because its a good location.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quickkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Omarama
16.8 mi away
High Country Holiday Lodge
0.5 mi away
Heritage Gateway Hotel
Heritage Gateway Hotel
#3 of 4 in Omarama
190 reviews
16.6 mi away
Mackenzie Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Otematata Eatery Bar & Lodging
Otematata Eatery Bar & Lodging
#687 of 728 in South Island
31 reviews
0.7 mi away
ASURE Sierra Motel
ASURE Sierra Motel
#1 of 4 in Omarama
124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ahuriri Motel Omarama
Ahuriri Motel Omarama
#2 of 4 in Omarama
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Countrytime Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Countrytime Hotel

Address: 15 Airport Road | State Highway 8, Omarama, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Omarama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Omarama
Price Range: £56 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Countrytime Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Countrytime Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing