We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heritage Gateway Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Omarama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely and comfortable”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The hotel is spacious with lot of green around. It gives you a lovely and comfortable feel. Being situated next to a chapel, you can take a walk over there and around the block before having breakfast and dinner in the hotel. Food is good and staff in the restaurant are particularly friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    55
    75
    10
    9
See reviews for
19
90
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Delightful hotel nice clean friendly place albeit only one night stay a pleasant place to rest and relax. Very helpful desk staff and a pleasure to stay definitely would return another time thank you to all staff

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Due to its handy location alongside State Highway 8, we booked this hotel. When we got there, we had more to enjoy and appreciate.
- a downstairs room was given to us after requesting due to heavy luggage;
- a late check-out granted to allow luggage packing on the following morning;
- a quiet environment despite its closeness to the main highway

Room Tip: $7 required for 24-hour Wi-Fi access
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristianstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed one night at this hotel when we drove from Queenstown to Christchurch. We had not made any reservation in advance. We just stopped when we found it along the road.

We arrived 20 minutes before reception closingtime. The staff was very kind and helpfull. Our room was spotless clean, it was large and the beds comfortable. We paid 135$ for our room and we felt it was worth the money. The prices are lower than in nearby and more popular Lake Takapo. We think that this place is a great stop for a good nights sleep when on the road. We recommend it to other travellers!

Sorry for my bad english, it is not my native languange.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank D-Centurion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Obliging staff, accommodation was excellent, we were travelling through and stopped due to tiredness. The surroundings were excellent, room double glazed, no outside noise, slept like a log. Thank you. We will call again soon.

Room Tip: Double glazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry Cheryl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChCh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This hotel charges high tariffs compared to other local accommodation, but provides lesser facilities than many smaller motel operations. I made the mistake of assuming that, like most, if not all, cheaper motels, this hotel would provide Sky (satellite) TV in the room as I wanted to watch a semi-final cricket game. It does not. There is Sky available in the bar, but only one channel is available at at time and the bar patrons were watching tennis. So I went to the local pub to watch the cricket where the atmosphere was much more inviting and enjoyable.
The room was a "superior" studio which was a pretty standard, but small, motel style room. The bed was very comfortable. But, the air vent in the bathroom was clogged with dust from the last thirty old years. I'll stay at a cheaper motel next time and enjoy Sky TV in my room.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryTedboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Well - we were lucky to find some available rooms in the region (Twizel was booked solid), so the location was good. When looking at their website, this hotel looks amazing. Our actual room however, was very dated (some fixtures had that certain '70s look to them -) and there were 4 lights that were either missing bulbs or just blown. A wierd mish-mash of incandescent and CFL bulbs - not a huge deal, but gives a visual sense of being cheap. Price however was not cheap. Hope they use all that income to update the place... Until then, find another place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewHampsterite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Omarama
0.6 mi away
Countrytime Hotel
Countrytime Hotel
#4 of 4 in Omarama
98 reviews
17.0 mi away
Mackenzie Country Inn
13.9 mi away
Otematata Eatery Bar & Lodging
Otematata Eatery Bar & Lodging
#671 of 721 in South Island
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
ASURE Sierra Motel
ASURE Sierra Motel
#1 of 4 in Omarama
103 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ahuriri Motel Omarama
Ahuriri Motel Omarama
#2 of 4 in Omarama
97 reviews
17.1 mi away
Mountain Chalet Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Gateway Hotel

Property: Heritage Gateway Hotel
Address: State Highway 8, Omarama 9412, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Omarama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Omarama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Heritage Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Heritage Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing