We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Motorcycle Touring” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heritage Gateway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Heritage Gateway Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Omarama
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Motorcycle Touring”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We turned up at the reception looking like a couple of drowned rats. Yet the two rats were welcome. We settled on a price and we shown our room. I have stayed here before and yes it's always been the same. Great service and great rooms. There's food on site or a pub a short stroll away (not always the best option). We got everything dry. And were on our way.
Omarama has several accommodation offerings. The Heritage has never let me down. I will continue to support this constantly great performer.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    54
    75
    10
    9
See reviews for
19
87
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
231 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed one night as part of a Grand Pacific Coach Tour .... the hotel is set amongst beautifully kept gardens, close to a Tavern and a few other small shops and opposite a pathway leading to a nice walk. The room was a basic motel room but comfortable and clean, and quiet. We had an evening meal and breakfast in the restaurant and the food was good and the staff here and in the hotel itself very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

The hotel is spacious with lot of green around. It gives you a lovely and comfortable feel. Being situated next to a chapel, you can take a walk over there and around the block before having breakfast and dinner in the hotel. Food is good and staff in the restaurant are particularly friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Delightful hotel nice clean friendly place albeit only one night stay a pleasant place to rest and relax. Very helpful desk staff and a pleasure to stay definitely would return another time thank you to all staff

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ozman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Due to its handy location alongside State Highway 8, we booked this hotel. When we got there, we had more to enjoy and appreciate.
- a downstairs room was given to us after requesting due to heavy luggage;
- a late check-out granted to allow luggage packing on the following morning;
- a quiet environment despite its closeness to the main highway

Room Tip: $7 required for 24-hour Wi-Fi access
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristianstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed one night at this hotel when we drove from Queenstown to Christchurch. We had not made any reservation in advance. We just stopped when we found it along the road.

We arrived 20 minutes before reception closingtime. The staff was very kind and helpfull. Our room was spotless clean, it was large and the beds comfortable. We paid 135$ for our room and we felt it was worth the money. The prices are lower than in nearby and more popular Lake Takapo. We think that this place is a great stop for a good nights sleep when on the road. We recommend it to other travellers!

Sorry for my bad english, it is not my native languange.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank D-Centurion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Obliging staff, accommodation was excellent, we were travelling through and stopped due to tiredness. The surroundings were excellent, room double glazed, no outside noise, slept like a log. Thank you. We will call again soon.

Room Tip: Double glazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry Cheryl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Omarama
0.6 mi away
Countrytime Hotel
Countrytime Hotel
#4 of 4 in Omarama
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
17.0 mi away
Mackenzie Country Inn
0.1 mi away
ASURE Sierra Motel
ASURE Sierra Motel
#1 of 4 in Omarama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ahuriri Motel Omarama
Ahuriri Motel Omarama
#2 of 4 in Omarama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
10.0 mi away
Dunstan Downs
Dunstan Downs
#3 of 5 in Omarama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
17.1 mi away
Mountain Chalet Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Gateway Hotel

Property: Heritage Gateway Hotel
Address: State Highway 8, Omarama 9412, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Omarama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Omarama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Heritage Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Heritage Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing