We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ahuriri Motel Omarama
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Omarama
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best ever”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Pam and Brian are great. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. A little peice of luxury after a long day of traveling. Would highly recommend the Ahuriri to everyone. A 3 minute stroll to town(and thats with full luggage in tow). Omarama itself is so peaceful. Everyone is so friendly and helpful.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Tarsha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    38
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
48
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed at this motel on the weekend and were extremely impressed with it. The day was cold when we arrived but the unit had the heating on and was very cosy when we entered. The host was most accommodating and friendly and our two small dogs were treated like guests. The unit was lovely and clean and well presented. Thanks very much and I would definitely use this motel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynece P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts,England
Level Contributor
127 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Omarama is a very small town with 1 Four Square Supermarket - which closes at 6.30pm. The motel is comprised of units that were originally built for construction workers homes, and as such, our 2 bedroom unit was larger than average. Comprehensively equipped, with good heating - my only negative would be the wet room rather than a normal bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bagabargain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Omarama is very small town - Used it as a stopover for 2 nights in January 2012 (Just catching up on my reviews TripAdvisor don't go back that far Stayed Jan 2012)

Great welcome from the hosts - showed me personally to the unit - plenty of free parking and you get a little milk to start you off. It's only 5-8 min walk into the shopping area.

The unit was compact but very clean and served its purpose. You have basic cooking facilities - hob/microwave, refrigerator and a kettle - all useful.

A couch and TV area then a bedroom with an en suite shower room.

Small area with table and chairs that you could sit outside if you wished.

There is a glider school nearby. The area is super quiet!

Small supermarket - but not great value so take supplies with you is possible. Few vars in the little town and eating places buy again vegetarians won't have many options - If out at any of the cafe's check the cheese they give you doesn't have animal rennet in it.

Great for a stop off between Queenstown & Christchurch......excellent value units - well worth a stop here to break up your journey.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 27L09R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We had a great stay here. Really enjoyed Omarama - stayed on our trip between Christchurch and Dunedin. Great views. The staff were very friendly, helpful and caring. Would recommend a trip to the hot tubs whilst here (not in the motel complex - a few mins drive away.)

Motel room was clean, tidy. Room looked recently renovated - although bathroom wasn't. However, it was very clean.

Room Tip: we had a basic studio - has all the facilities we needed for a one night stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forevakiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Great place to stay, very clean and very quiet, had a great nights sleep after a soak at the Omarama Hot Tubs. The town is very small but has enough eating options and there is a Four Square to pick up any supplies as the room we booked had a well supplied kitchenette.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NacreousCloud03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

This was our third stay here, and it is still excellent value.
Our chosen stopover place between Christchurch and Queenstown.
WE had a 2 bedroom unit, and as normal everything was clean and comfortable.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Omarama
0.5 mi away
Heritage Gateway Hotel
Heritage Gateway Hotel
#3 of 4 in Omarama
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.5 mi away
Countrytime Hotel
Countrytime Hotel
#4 of 4 in Omarama
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
17.0 mi away
Mackenzie Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
ASURE Sierra Motel
ASURE Sierra Motel
#1 of 4 in Omarama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
17.1 mi away
Mountain Chalet Motels
17.1 mi away
The Lakes Motel
The Lakes Motel
#1 of 4 in Twizel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ahuriri Motel Omarama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ahuriri Motel Omarama

Property: Ahuriri Motel Omarama
Address: State Highway 83 | State Highway 83, Omarama 9448, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Omarama
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Omarama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ahuriri Motel Omarama 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omarama, a Mountain Community in the middle of everywhere! Our 14 motel unit complex is situated in the heart of this mountainous region surrounded by a spacious garden like setting. This peaceful and quiet setting has a country atmosphere and stunning views of the mountain ranges, is just a short distance to beautiful lakes for boating or fishing. Tramping, walking or mountain bike tracks are also in our back yard with the Alps to Ocean cycle trail right here! We are a gliding mecca, you will see them soaring the skies, be tempted and take a flight yourself! Our 'dark' night skies are known for pristine starlit viewing, an idyllic way to view them is from a private Hot Tub and overlooking a small lake. Base yourself here in Omarama and be central to Mt Cook, Tekapo, Oamaru, Queenstown and Wanaka. See you soon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ahuriri Motel Omarama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing