We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it, would recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ahuriri Motel Omarama
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Omarama
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Loved it, would recommend”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We heard a lot of meeeh, meehh, through the night (lot of sheep nearby in pens, waiting to be transported the next day to ... uh, you know), didn't bother me at all - never heard sheep meeh-ing like that before - me, being from a big city, Toronto.... (we were told it's only 1x year, just happened to be that night:) Nice clean modern feel to it 2 rooms, basically what u need to prepare yourself some meals, fresh crisp - as if freshly starched bed linens - smelled great! On top of already great smelling mountain fresh air pouring in from the semi-open window. Really nice owners. Lucky them, they live in an amazing part of the world!
I only remember being stressed a bit when traveling through N.Z./AUSTR - all the smaller motels/hotels would close at 9pm or sooner. Us, traveling all day long and then trying to scramble to make it to our pre-booked hotel/motel before 9pm. Some make arrangements and leave ur room unlocked, but with some it's like 'not sure what's gonna happen, what we will find we we arrive at e.g. 9:30pm"

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YvetteG970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    38
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
48
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We arrived early and wanted to drive on to Mount Cook, They kindly kept our luggage and took it to our motel room when it was ready. Helpful with everything during our stay and great value for money. The room was well equipped and we stayed for two nights.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller14uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winwick, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights on our recent tour of New Zealand. This motel is part of the Golden Chain group of motels. We stayed in 7 of these during our tour and although the room was clean, tidy and comfortable, it was by far the smallest room that we stayed in. Although we had a full compliment of cutlery and crockery, it wasn't much use without anything to cook with. A microwave would have fitted nicely on top of the fridge.

Also, of all the Golden Chain motels, this was the only one that didn't supply any complimentary WiFi. There was only one price, and that was $7 for unlimited. Having managed quite well on complimentary 100/200mb download limits, I wasn't prepared to pay $7 for the same thing.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveB636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian H, Owner at Ahuriri Motel Omarama, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
We have taken on board your comments and now provide a microwave in Studio units also after some negotiating with our internet supplier as of 1st June can offer guests FREE Wifi. Your comments have been most valuable to us in providing an improved service to others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Stayed at the hotel for one night on the way from Christchurch to Dunedin (via Mt Cook). Room was clean and functional. Within easy walking distance to restaurants (there's only 2 to choose from). Not much to do in town, nice walk by the river.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vera P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed one night at Ahuriri Motel, Omarama (town famous for glider flying).

Ok standard on the cabins and very clean and functional. Nice personnel.

Situated 8 minutes walk from city center.

Pay for wifi.

Recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mag L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Girona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This was our last stopover on a tour of the island and was lovely. Brian, the owner, was very friendly. Our studio was nice and clean with private bathroom. The motel is in walking distance of the town, but as it rained while we were there, had to drive. Would certainly recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UtxiGirona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

A quiet place to stay and lovely owners! We stayed here overnight and booked a backpacker room ($56). Our room was tidy with a double bed and two single beds. The double bed was a bit bouncy so my husband slept in that on his own and I slept in one of the single beds.

The kitchen and lounge facilities with the pay washing machines/dryers were good. The bathroom/showers could do with a facelift but overall a pleasant stay.

The motel units looked nice and they be our preference next time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthernKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Omarama
0.5 mi away
Countrytime Hotel
Countrytime Hotel
#4 of 4 in Omarama
99 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heritage Gateway Hotel
Heritage Gateway Hotel
#3 of 4 in Omarama
175 reviews
17.2 mi away
High Country Holiday Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Mackenzie Country Inn
0.5 mi away
ASURE Sierra Motel
ASURE Sierra Motel
#1 of 4 in Omarama
104 reviews
17.1 mi away
Mountain Chalet Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ahuriri Motel Omarama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ahuriri Motel Omarama

Property: Ahuriri Motel Omarama
Address: State Highway 83 | State Highway 83, Omarama 9448, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Omarama
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Omarama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ahuriri Motel Omarama 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omarama, a Mountain Community in the middle of everywhere! Our 14 motel unit complex is situated in the heart of this mountainous region surrounded by a spacious garden like setting. This peaceful and quiet setting has a country atmosphere and stunning views of the mountain ranges, is just a short distance to beautiful lakes for boating or fishing. Tramping, walking or mountain bike tracks are also in our back yard with the Alps to Ocean cycle trail right here! We are a gliding mecca, you will see them soaring the skies, be tempted and take a flight yourself! Our 'dark' night skies are known for pristine starlit viewing, an idyllic way to view them is from a private Hot Tub and overlooking a small lake. Base yourself here in Omarama and be central to Mt Cook, Tekapo, Oamaru, Queenstown and Wanaka. See you soon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ahuriri Motel Omarama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing