We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing, luxurious stay in wine country. Bonus: alpacas!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough
Ranked #1 of 9 Renwick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 April 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Loft room at Hillsfield House for two nights. Woe that our stay couldn't have been longer! We have stayed in many B&B's in our travels, and Jo and Steve's place is at the top of the list. A few things we liked about it:

- Optimal location for wine tasting. A dozen wineries are easily within a 10 minute drive, including well-known Cloudy Bay and Villa Maria, along with boutique operations like Gibson Bridge

- Luxurious space. Our room was tastefully decorated and had many small welcoming touches - a small vase of flowers with breakfast, locally-made herbal bath products, NZ wine-themed books

- The breakfast: tasty, more than enough food. We had brought a lot of fruit with us, so we didn't partake in the fruit plate, but the fresh croissants and jams were delicious.

- The animals! If you want to feed the friendly alpacas and miniature horses, just ask! And if you're not an animal lover, you wouldn't even know they are nearby.

- Jo and Steve: very welcoming, lovely hosts. It's nice to meet good people, and they obviously have put a lot of thought and care into their two units. They make every effort to make your stay memorable.

Four thumbs up from this couple!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alliesana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2011

We stayed in "The Loft". The room was comfortable and spacious with queen bed, living area and large bathroom. Breakfast was served in the room at the requested time and was very good. Very convenient location and Jo is a great and very accommodating hostess. We highly recommend it to anyone!!

Room Tip: The Loft
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rt0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2011

We arrived on Friday evening for two nights of Winery touring. Steve and Jo immediately made us feel at home. They gave us a map of the wine trail and some suggestions of wineries we should visit based on our wine interests. We followed their suggestions for both nights dinners, The Cork and Keg - a pub - and Hanz Herzog's. The pub was not very good, except for a wide selection of beers. Hanz herzog's was a fantastic dining experience. Jo made the reservations for us and offered to drive us to the restaurant/winery since the dinners are multi-course French meals with each course paired with a wine from the Winery. We found some wonderful Rieslings and Sauvignon Blancs withing walking distance of the B&B. I would wholeheartedly recommend this B&B to any of my friends that would want a conveniently located and reasonably priced room.

Cheers to Jo and Steve!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZLover69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

This was an idyllic setting for a B&B and Jo and Steve made us very welcome from the start. They went beyond the normal bounds of hospitality finding us extra night's accommodation elsewhere when we had to move on from Christchurch after the earthquake. The 'Loft' was very well furnished and comfortable and the ambience was perfect for a relaxing stay. Even Twiggy the Alpaca welcomed us with a 'kiss'
A delicious breakfast was delivered to our room each morning with a smile.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djp39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Our stay at Hillsfield House was very enjoyable, from the beginning driving into beautiful surroundings and being greeted by the very friendly and welcoming hosts Jo and Steve, it was a total delight. The room was beautifully presented, very comfortable and charming. Separate accommodation from the main house, it looked over an olive grove beautiful trees, friendly alpacas, cooing doves and right next door to next to a vineyard.
Hillsfield house in in close proximity to many vineyards, so very convenient for sightseeing. We didn't want the usual hotel, and it was something special.
Breakfast was delicious, & a treat to have it brought in. It was all the extras and details we appreciated.
Staying here you will not be disappointed. We have even booked in next year ahead as we were so impressed, thank you Jill and Steve for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraceyMasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Hillsfield House is much like a country manor smack dab in the middle of the Marlsborough wine region. The house is Jo and Steve's private home, but they rent out two studio apartments that are in a separate house facing the courtyard. We had the lower room and while I was concerned about privacy, Jo had the windows facing the courtyard curtained which let in light but not images. Though the apartment was lovely and squeaky clean, what struck me was the beauty of the property and the hospitality of Jo and Steve. Our property looked out on an olive grove, alpacas and miniature ponies grazed throughout the grove, and Jo made sure our every need was met. We were loaned bikes for the day (free) and pedaled from winery to winery, ending with a late lunch at a winery that she recommended. Our continental breakfast was promptly laid out on our room table with white tablecloth & napkins and all that we had requested. We had been traveling a long time when we reached Hillsfield, and the luxurious rural setting was just what the doctor ordered. Only one comment to Jo & Steve--there were no wine glasses in the room--which in the middle of wine country seemed a bit lacking. (We did have a carafe of dessert wine and small glasses for our enjoyment) We could have asked, and I'm sure they would have been delivered promptly, but it seems it should be a regular item in the room. NOT A COMPLAINT, JUST A COMMENT. THANKS JO AND STEVE FOR THE DELIGHTFUL TWO DAYS ON YOUR ESTATE!

Room Tip: Either room would be lovely and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LongBeachDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsfield, Owner at Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2011

Hello there. Thank you for writing such a fantastic review and for giving us your feedback which is greatly appreciated as we are always striving to provide the best service possible. I am really sorry you didn't have wine glasses during your stay and I totally agree, they are essential items in the room :-). This is the reason we have them chilling in the Courtyard or Loft fridges so I must have forgotten to replace them when I serviced the room before you arrived. My apologies.
Again thank you for your feedback and choosing to come and stay with us, it was lovely having you. All the best. Cheers Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Having completed our three and a half weeks holiday in New Zealand we feel we can justly say this is one of the best B & Bs that we stayed in. We were given a very warm welcome and the loft where we stayed is furnished to a very high standard and provides everything you could wish for. The breakfast was excellent and it is ideally situated for exploring the vineyards. We discovered on reading the Visitors Book that friends of ours had stayed a year earlier! We would highly recommend this B & B.

S & N, South Wales

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthWalesJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Renwick
1.5 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
6.8 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
682 reviews
4.4 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Anglesea House Bed & Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire
1.4 mi away
Bonniebrook
Bonniebrook
#4 of 9 in Renwick
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough

Address: 33 Blicks Road, Renwick 7204, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Renwick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Renwick
Price Range: £130 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After months of building work, the renovations have finally finished and as of 1st January 2017, our beautiful Courtyard Cottage will be open once again to welcome new friends and make lasting memories. Thank you for your patience, everyone. The Courtyard Cottage is a peaceful, rural, self-contained hideaway, aptly named as it is found nestled in a pavilion, separate to that of your hosts, with a private entrance all of its own so you can make yourselves at home and come and go as you please. Tastefully and elegantly furnished, The Courtyard Cottage boasts a cosy lounge and dining area on the ground floor, along with a country-styled kitchenette, overlooking a sheltered garden filled with roses and lavender. Upstairs, a romantic master bedroom awaits you with a four poster bed, quality brocade bed linen and its own bathroom, stocked with beautiful hand-made soaps and bath toiletries, by Jeymar Soap & Body. Allow yourselves to indulge and be pampered, and awaken each morning to a continental breakfast served in your room at a time of your choosing, to suit your relaxation or travel plans. Alternatively, if preferred, we can bring you a basket of breakfast goodies the night before, to be enjoyed in the morning, at your leisure. During your stay, if the idea of gently cruising around Renwick's gorgeous boutique cellar doors takes your fancy, where you can take your time to delight in seasonal fare and some of the tastiest wine you could ever hope to try, we would love to make it happen for you. Here, you will find yourselves right in the heart of Marlborough's wine region and so our package also includes a complimentary bike tour with Wine Tours by Bike where you will have over a dozen or more cellar doors and restaurants to choose from, all within easy cycling distance away, via flat roads and bike paths and we promise you don't need to be super fit or confident on a bike to reach them. We very much look forward to seeing you. Steve and Jo ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillsfield House Bed And Breakfast Marlborough Renwick, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing