We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don’t procrastinate. Hillsfield House is the place to stay in Marlborough.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough
Ranked #1 of 9 Renwick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We often avoid B&Bs as we like a bit of anonymity and privacy and generally enjoy the process of finding our way around but after getting a personal referral from friends then reading the reviews online we decided to give Hillsfield House a try. Brilliant decision. Hillsfield House’s two charming rental units are in a separate building from the main house and Jo and Steve are exceptional hosts who provide a wonderful balance between allowing complete privacy and comfort in your own space while also being available pretty much anytime you need them to help make your trip special. After emailing Jo that I was trying to arrange some appointments with local winemakers, she offered me wine maps and local insiders’ insights on the options and even helped me gain an appointment with a wonderful local winemaker that I’d had trouble contacting. While there she also helped me negotiate a challenge with the car rental company. And one night when we decided a bottle of wine and a cozy simple dinner in our room was what we wanted, they even heated up the smorgasbord of take-away we had gathered that day. It’s hard to describe Jo’s warmth and charm without smiling. But there are only two units available so don’t procrastinate. Hillsfield House is the place to stay in Marlborough.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2013

The Hillsfield house is in a great location for visiting the Marlborough area. It is in a beautiful setting. Jo and Steve were both gracious hosts. The room was absolutely delightful. The breakfast was delicious, especially those warm croissants and organic honey. Jo sent us information and suggestions before we arrived that helped in our planning. We toured and went to dinner based on their recommendations and we were never disappointed. It was a real treat for Steve to drive us to dinner in the antique car. We highly recommend a stay here, it will be memorable! Only wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: We stayed in the courtyard room on the same level as the entry. No stairs if that is an issue for yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanc923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

One of the best places we have ever stayed! If you are looking for an amazing bed and breakfast in Marlboroug, look no further.. the only downside we had was not being able to stay long! Jo and Steve were awesome hosts and made us feel very welcome. I could go on and on about how marvelous our stay was but instead ill say try it for yourself, you wont be dissapointed. Thanks again! Kate and John

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Where do I start....so much to tell about our stay at Hillsfield B&B, I can't believe it was only 1 night. A warm welcome by Jo, the complementary bikes ready to use when we arrived around noon so we could carry on with our tasting right away. The room was superb with everything you need in a beautiful setting. Steve was so helpful to bring us to the restaurant (Herzog estate bistro, pick this if you'd love a nice setting and good food), thanks again for that nice ride!

After a very good sleep the breakfast was overwhelming, very freshly prepared with love (you can taste that!).

So what makes this B&B really outstanding? Steve and Jo that is, making you feel at home the minute you booked your stay (never recieved such good information beforehand).

Thank you guys!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcornege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Well, we finally made it. I booked a South Island holiday for both my parents and in-laws in 2012 that included a stop at Hillsfield House and they returned raving... my husband and I finally made a visit last week. Everything that has been said before is true. Jo is a marvelous host - hospitable, warm, kind, knowledgeable, helpful, friendly, professional... I could go on and on! Everything at Hillsfield has been thought of - the perfect balance of hospitality and privacy, the excellent room layout and amenity, the organisation, presentation and generosity (not to mention quality!) of the breakfast... Hillsfield really is unbeatable in my opinion. On the first evening, after taking Jo's recommendation for dinner, we returned to find our breakfast order card had been taken, the crockery for the morning laid out, the bed had been turned down, a sprig of rosemary placed on each of our pillows, the lights dimmed and the heater on, and our towels (which we had used) replaced for fresh ones and warming on the towel rail. Amazing! Jo's care for her guests and attention to detail really is second to none.
We can't think of staying anywhere else when next in Renwick... a real treat and thoroughly first class! Thanks again Jo. You're a superstar :-)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilovebach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed here at Easter this year in the Courtyard. If you are travelling to this part of the world you would be absolutely remiss if you did not stay at Hillsfield House. It is a little gem in a beautiful, peaceful spot and perfectly located to visit the local attractions and wineries. The property itself is really lovely, but it's the personal touches that hosts Jo and Steve add that make it really stand out as very special. The information book on local wineries and restaurants, the lovely breakfasts brought to your room when you wish, the blankets and rugs to keep us warm at the air show, the hot cross buns and Easter eggs etc etc. I highly recommend Hillsfield House, but remember not to make your stay too short because you won't want to leave believe me. Donna and Steve Brisbane Australia.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DBRtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Even before our arrival to Hillsfield House Jo was an amazing hostess. She answered my questions over email and sent me information on the area (wineries that are close by, places to eat). We expressed interest in riding bikes to the wineries and Jo had the bikes waiting for us on our arrival and proceeded to give us recommendations regarding where we should go (and the route). We had a lovely day riding our bikes to the wineries. The B&B is off the main road but very close to several wineries, so you are able to get the feel of being away from it all without being too far. The breakfast was delicious and the room nicely decorated.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Renwick
1.5 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
6.8 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
679 reviews
4.4 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Anglesea House Bed & Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire
1.4 mi away
Bonniebrook
Bonniebrook
#4 of 9 in Renwick
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough

Address: 33 Blicks Road, Renwick 7204, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Renwick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Renwick
Price Range: £130 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After months of building work, the renovations have finally finished and as of 1st January 2017, our beautiful Courtyard Cottage will be open once again to welcome new friends and make lasting memories. Thank you for your patience, everyone. The Courtyard Cottage is a peaceful, rural, self-contained hideaway, aptly named as it is found nestled in a pavilion, separate to that of your hosts, with a private entrance all of its own so you can make yourselves at home and come and go as you please. Tastefully and elegantly furnished, The Courtyard Cottage boasts a cosy lounge and dining area on the ground floor, along with a country-styled kitchenette, overlooking a sheltered garden filled with roses and lavender. Upstairs, a romantic master bedroom awaits you with a four poster bed, quality brocade bed linen and its own bathroom, stocked with beautiful hand-made soaps and bath toiletries, by Jeymar Soap & Body. Allow yourselves to indulge and be pampered, and awaken each morning to a continental breakfast served in your room at a time of your choosing, to suit your relaxation or travel plans. Alternatively, if preferred, we can bring you a basket of breakfast goodies the night before, to be enjoyed in the morning, at your leisure. During your stay, if the idea of gently cruising around Renwick's gorgeous boutique cellar doors takes your fancy, where you can take your time to delight in seasonal fare and some of the tastiest wine you could ever hope to try, we would love to make it happen for you. Here, you will find yourselves right in the heart of Marlborough's wine region and so our package also includes a complimentary bike tour with Wine Tours by Bike where you will have over a dozen or more cellar doors and restaurants to choose from, all within easy cycling distance away, via flat roads and bike paths and we promise you don't need to be super fit or confident on a bike to reach them. We very much look forward to seeing you. Steve and Jo ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillsfield House Bed And Breakfast Marlborough Renwick, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing