We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Commodore Court Motel(Blenheim)(Great Value!)
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Phoenix Motor Inn(Blenheim)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Admirals Motor Lodge(Blenheim)(Great Value!)
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Middle Park Motel(Blenheim)(Great Value!)
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ASURE Sundowner Motel(Blenheim)(Great Value!)
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Timara Lodge(Marlborough Region)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Marlborough Vintners Hotel(Blenheim)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (454)
Filter reviews
454 results
Traveller rating
453
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
453
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew zealandwine countryfour poster bedsouth islandeach morningfresh fruitbreakfast is servedtwo nightsexcellent reviewsplace to staythought of everythingwine areaperfect hostsperfect stayour night stayjoalpacas
Filter
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 454 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We often avoid B&Bs as we like a bit of anonymity and privacy and generally enjoy the process of finding our way around but after getting a personal referral from friends then reading the reviews online we decided to give Hillsfield House a try. Brilliant decision. Hillsfield House’s two charming rental units are in a separate building from the main house and Jo and Steve are exceptional hosts who provide a wonderful balance between allowing complete privacy and comfort in your own space while also being available pretty much anytime you need them to help make your trip special. After emailing Jo that I was trying to arrange some appointments with local winemakers, she offered me wine maps and local insiders’ insights on the options and even helped me gain an appointment with a wonderful local winemaker that I’d had trouble contacting. While there she also helped me negotiate a challenge with the car rental company. And one night when we decided a bottle of wine and a cozy simple dinner in our room was what we wanted, they even heated up the smorgasbord of take-away we had gathered that day. It’s hard to describe Jo’s warmth and charm without smiling. But there are only two units available so don’t procrastinate. Hillsfield House is the place to stay in Marlborough.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

The Hillsfield house is in a great location for visiting the Marlborough area. It is in a beautiful setting. Jo and Steve were both gracious hosts. The room was absolutely delightful. The breakfast was delicious, especially those warm croissants and organic honey. Jo sent us information and suggestions before we arrived that helped in our planning. We toured and went to dinner based on their recommendations and we were never disappointed. It was a real treat for Steve to drive us to dinner in the antique car. We highly recommend a stay here, it will be memorable! Only wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: We stayed in the courtyard room on the same level as the entry. No stairs if that is an issue for you.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanc923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

One of the best places we have ever stayed! If you are looking for an amazing bed and breakfast in Marlboroug, look no further.. the only downside we had was not being able to stay long! Jo and Steve were awesome hosts and made us feel very welcome. I could go on and on about how marvelous our stay was but instead ill say try it for yourself, you wont be dissapointed. Thanks again! Kate and John

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Where do I start....so much to tell about our stay at Hillsfield B&B, I can't believe it was only 1 night. A warm welcome by Jo, the complementary bikes ready to use when we arrived around noon so we could carry on with our tasting right away. The room was superb with everything you need in a beautiful setting. Steve was so helpful to bring us to the restaurant (Herzog estate bistro, pick this if you'd love a nice setting and good food), thanks again for that nice ride!

After a very good sleep the breakfast was overwhelming, very freshly prepared with love (you can taste that!).

So what makes this B&B really outstanding? Steve and Jo that is, making you feel at home the minute you booked your stay (never recieved such good information beforehand).

Thank you guys!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcornege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Well, we finally made it. I booked a South Island holiday for both my parents and in-laws in 2012 that included a stop at Hillsfield House and they returned raving... my husband and I finally made a visit last week. Everything that has been said before is true. Jo is a marvelous host - hospitable, warm, kind, knowledgeable, helpful, friendly, professional... I could go on and on! Everything at Hillsfield has been thought of - the perfect balance of hospitality and privacy, the excellent room layout and amenity, the organisation, presentation and generosity (not to mention quality!) of the breakfast... Hillsfield really is unbeatable in my opinion. On the first evening, after taking Jo's recommendation for dinner, we returned to find our breakfast order card had been taken, the crockery for the morning laid out, the bed had been turned down, a sprig of rosemary placed on each of our pillows, the lights dimmed and the heater on, and our towels (which we had used) replaced for fresh ones and warming on the towel rail. Amazing! Jo's care for her guests and attention to detail really is second to none.
We can't think of staying anywhere else when next in Renwick... a real treat and thoroughly first class! Thanks again Jo. You're a superstar :-)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilovebach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews