We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy room & so relaxing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Renwick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough
Ranked #1 of 8 Renwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cozy room & so relaxing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

I think Jo & Steve are the perfect hosts! We arrived late after misjudging how long it would take us to travel from Christchurch & they were so concerned that we get settled in & then called into town to make sure we could still find somewhere to eat. Great breakfast in the AM served with a smile & nice conversation too. The loft room we stayed in is very cozy & decorated beautifully. Although we could only stay one night we took advantage of the bicycles they provide to do a wine tour. I like that Steve just gives you everything you need to know, including a map & phone # in case they need to come get you! I think this is the absolute best place to do the cycle tour as it is so close to many great vineyards that you can just take your time & still see a lot. Hillsfield house definitely deserves the perfect rating that it keeps getting. Thanks Jo & Steve!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leah410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
387
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

No wonder this place has a perfect rating. We spent two nights there and it was perfect. The room is nicely decorated with comfort of home. Wonderful host with delicious breakfast. Everything was perfect and would highly recommend to everyone to stay while visitng wine country.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 111Lovetotravel_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We chose Hillsfield House after it was featured as one of the top places to stay on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed! The B&B was one of the last places we stopped on our South Island tour – a haven at the end of two weeks in a motorhome!

We felt at home straight away – Jo even took pity on us and did some of our washing which we were so grateful for! Both Steve and Jo have a strong knowledge of the area and were extremely helpful suggesting places to visit and eat. Steve recommended Hans Herzog winery on our first night (and we were lucky to be given a lift there). Wow, what a meal - if you do stay at Hillsfield then I'd certainly recommend you visit here one night.

Our accommodation was the ‘Loft’ a beautifully designed en-suite room with a lounge area where breakfast is brought up to you each morning – just bliss! Jo and Steve didn’t bat an eyelid when we asked for several items from the breakfast menu – we just couldn’t resist trying the freshly basked croissants which were delicious.

As soon as we arrived we got on the bikes (free hire with our stay) and they were great - easy on the legs and with a wine basket in the back to load up our favourite tipples! Steve gave us a lowdown of the best wineries to visit in our short time there and all of them proved worthwhile. We particularly enjoyed The Forrest winery - we had tasting and relaxed in the beautiful surroundings.

The room was filled with local toiletries which were so luscious and contained no sulphates. We actually purchased big bottles to take home with us as well as their own olive oil - yum! We were also surprised with great cake and tea when we got back after a day's touring.

We think the main thing that stood out from our stay is how personable Jo & Steve are - we will definitely be staying in touch with them and hope we can save up and visit again one day. Not least to visit the miniature ponies, Alpacas and Twiggy the cat!

If we had one top tip it would be taking 5 minutes outside late at night under the stars. Renwick has very few lights so you get to see every star in the sky - it was breath-taking.

Room Tip: Both rooms look gorgeous - we just liked the sound of "The Loft" more! Amenities are grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom_and_Rhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

After our two nights at Hillsfield House, where Jo and Steve made us feel completely at home and taken care of, we did NOT want to leave. Although Jo will humbly tell you its just part of their job, they truly went above and beyond the call of duty several times during our stay, which only reminded us how wonderful it feels to be taken care of as human beings in our world of large, impersonal hotels. The rooms are incredibly well-appointed, meticulously clean, private, warm and inviting (there was a bit of a chill rain during part of our stay, so it was like heaven to be tucked into the Loft that afternoon). Life's a wonderful place with Jo and Steve and Hillsfield House!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We moved here after leaving a motel that we did not want to stay at in Blenheim. As first-time visitors to the region, unfortunately, we didn't realize that we didn't need to stay in Blenheim. We found Hillsfield at the last minute - literally the night before we wanted to check in - and Steve and Jo (owners of Hillsfield) were so delighted and helpful in organizing our impromptu stay.

Best. Move. Ever.

Hillsfield is just a fantastic B&B all around. Highlights:

- The accommodation is extremely clean and neat and tidy (more than our motel);
- the place is convenient and close to town and wineries (they actually run a winery tour by bike company too i think - so have bikes you can borrow if you want - the kind that have wine bottle holders);
- Steve and Jo are just wonderful people;
- the breakfast is delicious and homemade (we had homemade cereals, fresh milk, juices, fruit, and warm-baked croissants with delicious honeys);
- the wifi is fast;
- the estate itself is also gorgeous (there is a farm we explored with ponies and alpacas - the alpacas were so cute they ran right up to us to say hello and immediately became shy - reminded us of our pup)
- the bed is SO comfortable - pillows were so nice we even asked Jo where to get them and we went and bought one to take back to HK before our flight home...
- cheaper than the motel!

Nothing bad to say at all about this place - except we wish we could have stayed two nights!

Room Tip: We stayed in the loft which I think is smaller but probably quieter as its upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hillsfield B&B in February, 2013 and it was our favorite accommodation on our entire 3 week trip around the South Island. Jo was an incredible hostess, making us feel totally at home and giving us great info about what to do, where to eat, etc. She even made lunch reservations for us ahead of time so that right after we arrived we could hop on the bikes and head to a winery. (And just a side note to give some props to the Wairau Winery, Jo's recommendation, it was amazing and my mouth still waters thinking about the blue cheese souffle I had there. I would also recommend the butterscotch schnapps from the great little gourmet shop down the road from Wairau. We bought a bottle and drank a little bit every night under the stars during the course of our trip). We stayed in the upstairs loft room at HIllsfield and it was beautiful. There were so many nice touches and literally everything we could possibly think of was provided, including some amazing spearmint lotions/soaps which she also sells on site. We also work in the hospitality industry so I consider ourselves to be picky guests, but there was nothing to criticize and we appreciated all of the speical touches. We enjoyed our room so much that one night we just got take-out because we wanted to spend more time in our really comfortable sitting area. And oh the breakfasts! Heavenly croissants and fresh fruits, yogurt, you name it and it was delicious. Then of course there are the bikes you can use at any time, complete with under the seat bags large enough to carry at least 4 bottles of wine as you freely bike around the vineyards. I'm one of those people who likes to plan everything out in advance, but with Jo there it's not necessary. She was a wealth of info and had everything we needed, including maps of the area and great suggestions about which routes to bike and what restaurants shouldn't be missed. You're right there in the midst of all of the vineyards so it's really easy to bike around and skip the main road, or just walk to a few vineyards that are just down the road. I really don't know what to say we liked better, the place itself, the location, or the hospitality, but it all makes for a wonderful place to stay and I mean it when I say it was our favorite accommodation on our three week trip.

Room Tip: The upstairs loft was lovely with cozy slanted ceilings, a huge bathroom, a great sitting area, love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kristen v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The B&B is in a separate guest house from the main house, so feels very private. The rooms have character, are cosy and clean. Breakfast delivered to your room in the morning, and muffins that await you when you return from your wine tours in the afternoon. The host was very hospitable and had good recommendations on wineries/restaurants. The land the property was on was just stunning. We highly recommend staying here, book early as there are only 2 rooms!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandO3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Renwick
1.5 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
6.8 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#9 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
5.5 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
0.7 mi away
Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire
0.5 mi away
Anglesea House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough

Property: Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough
Address: 33 Blicks Road, Renwick 7204, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Renwick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Renwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Cottage is a peaceful, rural, self-contained hideaway, aptly named as it is found nestled in a pavilion, separate to that of your hosts, with a private entrance all of its own so you can make yourselves at home and come and go as you please. Tastefully and elegantly furnished, The Courtyard Cottage boasts a cosy lounge and dining area on the ground floor, along with a country-styled kitchenette, overlooking a sheltered garden filled with roses and lavender. Upstairs, a romantic master bedroom awaits you with a four poster bed, quality brocade bed linen and its own bathroom, stocked with beautiful hand-made soaps and bath toiletries, by Jeymar Soap & Body. Allow yourselves to indulge and be pampered, and awaken each morning to a continental breakfast served in your room at a time of your choosing, to suit your relaxation or travel plans. Alternatively, if preferred, we can bring you a basket of breakfast goodies the night before, to be enjoyed in the morning, at your leisure. During your stay, if the idea of gently cruising around Renwick's gorgeous boutique cellar doors takes your fancy, where you can take your time to delight in seasonal fare and some of the tastiest wine you could ever hope to try, we would love to make it happen for you. Here, you will find yourselves right in the heart of Marlborough's wine region and so our package also includes a complimentary bike tour with Wine Tours by Bike where you will have over a dozen or more cellar doors and restaurants to choose from, all within easy cycling distance away, via flat roads and bike paths and we promise you don't need to be super fit or confident on a bike to reach them. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hillsfield House Bed And Breakfast Marlborough Renwick, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing