We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Renwick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough
Ranked #1 of 8 Renwick B&B and Inns
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We began our 16 day adventure in New Zealand with a 3 night stay with Steve and Jo. We could not agree more with all the positive reviews posted here. It is located in a beautiful setting, they are extremely helpful, rooms are clean and well appointed, wonderful breakfasts and free use of bikes. No other accommodations that we stayed at afterwards could compare to this so do not hesitate to book!

Room Tip: We stayed in upstairs loft which is a bit smaller than downstairs unit but has beautiful views and v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svendog2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
388
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Homely feeling, really well kept, neat, tidy cottage in the heart of the wine region. Helpful and approachable, happy to help with any info required. Fantastic home made and delivered breakfast. Great stay, highly recommend. Close to all the wineries - you could ride a bike to most of the big names from here.

Stayed in Jan '14 as part of honeymoon.

Room Tip: Stayed in courtyard room. has garden views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelhappy0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in the Courtyard room and we loved everything about our stay. Our hosts, Steve and Jo were so helpful. They pay attention to tiny details which make so much of a difference.
The location is perfect with wineries very close to this place. We loved the bike tour that they arranged for us.
There is a book in the room with menus from all the restaurants close by. Jo even reserved a table for us.
The breakfast was awesome. They serve it in the room and set it up beautifully.
Small touches really made us smile- We had cake waiting in our room after our bike tour :)
We loved everything about this place. We would love to visit again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hereigoagain54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poughkeepsie, New York, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Hillsfield House was the best place we stayed in New Zealand. The hosts Jo and Steve are very nice. We stayed in the upstairs loft room which was very comfortable. The room and bathroom were modern, the bed was comfy and the breakfast they brought to use each morning was awesome. The fresh croissants, honey and jams made a big difference after 2 days of drinking wine. They are in a great location around all the major wineries in Renwick so we took the bikes out both days to all the wineries for tasting. The bikes were really useful and pretty much brand new and the bags on the sides are useful for carrying purchases back. A great time thanks!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Loft room which was very nice but might be more hot in the summer with no A/C since...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed 2 nights in the Loft room and had a fantastic stay. Everything about Hillsfield B&B is great, from the comfort/furnishing of the room, the miniature ponies in the garden, the breakfast, to the lovely hosts Steve and Jo. Nothing was too much trouble during our stay, Steve dropped us to a restaurant for dinner and Jo gave us lots of suggestions for wine tastings.

Our only regret is that we had to leave! I would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JB_Traveller_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Jo and Steve were really welcoming and helpful throughout our stay, with advice on a range of local activities, including wine tasting, We had a fabulous meal at Hans Herzog winery, with Jo giving us a lift there, which was lovely of her. We had the loft room at Hillsfield, a beautiful room with lots of attention to detail. Having breakfast delivered to the room was pure indulgence.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Jo & Steve were perfect hosts, very friendly and inclusive, but allowing us our privacy as well. Since it was rainy, we didn't get the opportunity to try the bikes, but their recommendations for wineries were spot on". We stayed 2 nights at Hillsfield and totally enjoyed our visit.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoAirstream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Renwick
1.5 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
4.4 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
0.7 mi away
Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Anglesea House Bed & Breakfast
4.9 mi away
The Marlborough Lodge
The Marlborough Lodge
#13 of 32 in Blenheim
87 reviews
4.7 mi away
Antria Boutique Lodge
Antria Boutique Lodge
#4 of 43 in Blenheim
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough

Property: Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough
Address: 33 Blicks Road, Renwick 7204, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Renwick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Renwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Cottage is a peaceful, rural, self-contained hideaway, aptly named as it is found nestled in a pavilion, separate to that of your hosts, with a private entrance all of its own so you can make yourselves at home and come and go as you please. Tastefully and elegantly furnished, The Courtyard Cottage boasts a cosy lounge and dining area on the ground floor, along with a country-styled kitchenette, overlooking a sheltered garden filled with roses and lavender. Upstairs, a romantic master bedroom awaits you with a four poster bed, quality brocade bed linen and its own bathroom, stocked with beautiful hand-made soaps and bath toiletries, by Jeymar Soap & Body. Allow yourselves to indulge and be pampered, and awaken each morning to a continental breakfast served in your room at a time of your choosing, to suit your relaxation or travel plans. Alternatively, if preferred, we can bring you a basket of breakfast goodies the night before, to be enjoyed in the morning, at your leisure. During your stay, if the idea of gently cruising around Renwick's gorgeous boutique cellar doors takes your fancy, where you can take your time to delight in seasonal fare and some of the tastiest wine you could ever hope to try, we would love to make it happen for you. Here, you will find yourselves right in the heart of Marlborough's wine region and so our package also includes a complimentary bike tour with Wine Tours by Bike where you will have over a dozen or more cellar doors and restaurants to choose from, all within easy cycling distance away, via flat roads and bike paths and we promise you don't need to be super fit or confident on a bike to reach them. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hillsfield House Bed And Breakfast Marlborough Renwick, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing