We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved our stay in the French Barn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bell Tower on Dog Point
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loved our stay in the French Barn”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

What a lovely stay! Kirsty is such a wonderful host. We stayed in the French Barn, which was absolutely charming. The views are very nice and this little house is just exactly want you need when you are travelling for a longer period. I can highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: The French Barn
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FvanN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

If you stay anywhere in Marlborough, stay here! This was our second visit and, onc again, it was one of our highlights of all the places we stayed in an 8 week tour of NZ. We stayed in the French Barn, which is a bit indulgent for only 2 people, but absolutely lovely to have the extra space and a feeling of being in a 'home from home'. The views are outstanding, and the star gazing was amazing. The property is also within easy driving distance of Blenheim, and handy for day trips to Havelock and Picton. Kirsty, the host, is absolutely charming - she can't do enough for her guests, and was more than generous in keeping our kitchen stocked with all sorts of nice things to eat - and plenty of lovely bottles of Dog Point Sauvignon!! You can also have anything from her lovely kitchen garden, so we enjoyed evening meals including home-grown lettuce, tomatoes, courgettes etc. Sheer relaxation and enjoyment from start to finish. We will always include this property on future trips to New Zealand, and cannot recommend it highly enough for its charm, understated luxury and lovely host.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alison_simpson27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I spent ages hunting for the right place to stay on our recent trip to the Marbrough wine area. I settled on The Bell Tower on Dog Point and took the Barn accommodaton. It was wonderful, the setting is so peaceful, close to all the wineries and Blenhim township. Designed in French Provincal style and increadly tasteful. The rooms in the main house are to die for also. Kirsty is a wonderful host. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prim09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We stayed at the Bell Tower and never wanted to leave. The lodge itself is outstanding, the food and wine superb and the service from Kirsty and her team is second to none. The location is stunning and although we didn't have the best of weather whilst there, nothing could spoil the wonderful, far reaching views. This is a firm favourite of ours and we intend to return.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mp_66_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We stayed at The Bell Tower in March on a three week trip around New Zealand. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we were made to feel incredibly welcome by Kirsty. This was a special holiday for my husband's birthday which we celebrated here. We stayed in the French Barn which was lovely and private with fantastic views and a well stocked fridge full of soft drinks, fruit, beers and a bottle of bubbly for our birthday celebration. The fridge was restocked eat day and a cheese board delivered in the evening for a nibble before dinner. Each morning Kirsty would arrive with trays full of large helpings of both continental and cooked breakfasts to our taste. She booked a restaurant for our evening meal and even gave us a lift there which was very kind. All in all it was a wonderful place to stay, especially for a special occasion. The views are beautiful, surrounded by famous wineries to visit and only a 5 minute drive to Blenheim itself. Lovely. Monty, the friendly yellow labrador was an added bonus! We stayed in many luxury lodges during our stay in New Zealand, but the Bell Tower still rates as number one for us in terms of hospitality and overall experience. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammy064Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
278 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2010

For us it was a return to a luxury lodge that we had earlier visited and loved.
You enter through a beautiful courtyard into rooms that reflect elegant and tasteful décor into a well-appointed private suite with a king bed and lovely drapes and French doors opening out onto a private terrace that was ideal for our morning coffee brewed in your mini kitchenette. The coffee is specially roasted by a local Blenheim company. The bathrooms feature a shower and a full bath along with touches of luxury.
The guest lounges are delightful with quality furnishing and appointments. Perfect for a quiet read and relax along with a glass of Dog Point wine.
Kirsty is the perfect hostess being helpful with dinner bookings, internet wifi connections and general local information. Her vineyard recommendations were most helpful and she certainly knows Marlborough.
The bell Tower has a commanding position looking out over vineyards and beyond to the plains and the hills while the building is of a French architectural style. Walking trails abound and you can wander through the vineyards.
If you want a quite, private luxury retreat in the heart of the Marlborough vineyards then you cannot do better than The Bell Tower on Dog Point

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Winetourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Renwick
3.2 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
4.1 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
6.2 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#8 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Anglesea House Bed & Breakfast
3.3 mi away
Vintners Retreat
Vintners Retreat
#1 of 22 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
1.5 mi away
Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell Tower on Dog Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell Tower on Dog Point

Property: The Bell Tower on Dog Point
Address: 71 Brookby Road, Renwick 7272, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Renwick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Renwick
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bell Tower on Dog Point 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bell Tower on Dog Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bell Tower On Dog Point Renwick, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing