We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming hosts and excellent facilities” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Watson's Way Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Renwick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Watson's Way Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Welcoming hosts and excellent facilities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Booked in advance after recommendation from friends, we stayed for 2 nights and were given a choice of campervan spots. Purpose built accommodation for backpackers provided superb communal facilities for those of us either in campervans (I think the max. room is for three) or those in tents in the garden/orchard areas. Unisex showers, toilets and sinks with hair dryers provided were clean, modern and easily accessible. A communal well equipped kitchen with lounge and dining area was well used by guests when we stayed there as well as a veranda and BBQ for outdoor eating.
Bikes were available for hire - this we did and hostess Pat gave us a map and her recommendations for our cellar door visits, since Watson's Way is bang in the middle of the vineyards, so an ideal place to start and finish from. All of her recommendations were spot on.
Both Pat and Paul the owners, JFK
were extremely hospitable and helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
All in all, an excellent base which was just an hour and a half away from the ferry at Picton, from where we had arrived after visiting North Island.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry187046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    21
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
65
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here two nights in a campervan spot but the common areas were so nice we hardly used our campervan. The whole place is so clean and the kitchen is very well equipped. There is a BBQ, pétanque area and tennis court too but we didn't use them. We hired bikes from the Watsons at a very good price and cycled around the vineyards which was lovely and Paul told us all the best (and free) places to visit. We loved it and just can't fault the place!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppy612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed here for two nights during our honeymoon. We had mainly chosen a backpackers' hostel because we knew we wouldn't be here long and mainly wanted to experience some of the vinyards while in Marlborough... Little did we know that hostels in NZ are evidently made of different stuff than what you'd expect in Europe! We had a double room with ensuite bathroom and that was on par with (or better than) many a B&B you may find over here. The atmosphere of the place was very welcoming, with a nice garden and rustic common room (which we didn't use much). The owners are also very nice and helpful, and the on-site bike rental was the perfect way to get around the wineries (Next time we will need to plan the cycling route according to the wind though...)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaunas, Lithuania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

One of the best backpackers we have stayed in during our trip in NZ. The owners were super nice, the rooms were like new, cozy, beds super comfy, big kitchen, lots of space and utensils. Location is also great - right next to all the vineyards. The only cons - lots of flies, little space in the showers and not working wi-fi. All in all would def stay there again and recommend for others. Great value for money!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UgneMatekonyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

We couldn't recommend this place highly enough. It's run by a lovely couple who are extremely helpful. We stayed in our campervan but used the kitchen and bathroom facilities at the hostel. All areas were exceptionally clean and tidy. They also do bike here so you can explore the Marlborough wine trail right from the door step!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lorna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed for three nights in a double room with ensuite bathroom. Our room was called "Toni".
It was a little tight for putting all our bags down, but other than that the room was great. The kitchen is well equipped and just about big enough (only two sinks for washing up so when it gets busy you have to go and have another glass of wine before cleaning up - oh what a shame!).
The hosts are very friendly and helpful with lots of suggestions on where to go and what to do.
We hired bikes from them one day and they were very good. Well maintained and supplied with panniers just in case you happen to visit a vineyard or two and perhaps buy a bottle or several.
We managed eight vineyards in a day and barely scratched the surface - there are so many nearby.
There is a butcher nearby who provided two meals for us. One day we had a steak pie from him and another we had two steaks which we cooked on the bbq. Both were excellent.
There is wifi and, as seems ubiquitous in NZ, it's not free but here they give you a 50MB credit to get you started.
Sadly when we were there we saw that the business is for sale (retirement beckons). Here's hoping they find a buyer who keeps it running as well as it is currently.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghDrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
72 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in a double room with shared bathroom.

I do have to say that our double room did not look like any of the photographs above but that said it was cozy and comfortable. The room itself was pretty small and comprised of a bunk bed, double on the bottom and single on the top and a little TV/DVD player which was lovely as we could rent a movie from reception and watch it in bed (a bit of home comfort)!! Bathrooms were clean with hot showers.

There is an open plan kitchen and living space. The Kitchen was clean with little ovens (those on the counter types) and plenty of utensils. You had baskets to store your food in on a shelf. There were tables for people to sit at and eat and there were board games to play (no TV in living area).

There were only a couple of sofas in the living area so I imagine that could get a bit crowded in busy months.

The people running the hostal were lovely, they recommended tours of the wineries, hired bikes and went out of their way to help us fix a car problem we had. A really nice gesture was giving us a little chocolate each when we returned our keys and checked out :)


Likes

Cleanliness
DVD Hire
Info at reception and general helpfulness
Big Kitchen
Tennis courts
Bike Hire

Dislikes/Improvements

Room was a tad small


I really enjoyed my stay here and would recommend it

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cantwait2holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Renwick
1.7 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
5.2 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
6.5 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#8 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Anglesea House Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire
1.6 mi away
Vintners Retreat
Vintners Retreat
#1 of 24 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watson's Way Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watson's Way Lodge

Property: Watson's Way Lodge
Address: 56 High Street, Renwick 7204, New Zealand (Formerly Watson's Way Backpackers)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Renwick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Renwick
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Watson's Way Lodge Renwick, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing