We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money~”
Review of Watson's Way Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Renwick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Watson's Way Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Value for money~”
Reviewed 13 December 2009

A very clean and small room which suits our budget for a night's stay. before going to kaikoura for several activities. Chose this lodging based on TA reviews and lonely planet's recommendation, no regrets.hosts were very friendly and internet access is very efficient (need to pay).
We did not hire bikes as it was quite cold on the day we checked in.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dancingkueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    22
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
68
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
anon
Level Contributor
65 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2009

The ensuite rooms were all booked on our arrival so we stayed in a very clean and pleasantly decorated twin room with toilet and showers just down the corridor. The place is so clean they ask you to remove your shoes on entering! Bike hire if staying at the hostel was only NZ$15 per person including panniers, and this was ideal for touring the vineyards (with the aid of the free map available) and carrying home any purchases. There was a British pub, the 'Cork and Keg' a short walk away and a great fish and chip takeaway also within walking distance. Kitchen facilities were clean and spacious for when you wanted to do your own catering with a pleasant outdoor covered balcony area to sit out on.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owlAnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
305 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2009

Watson's Way is a bit better than your average Backpackers. With it's small size it's quieter than most. The owners live onsite and are availble for most needs. The grounds are nicely kept and give you the felling of staying at someones house with a pretty garden and fenced private back yard. My favorite thing about the place is its proximity to the best vineyards in the Marlborough. Bicycling is a good way to tour the area and Watson's Way rents bikes. The price was resonable at $75 for an ensuite double room. We enjoyed movie time in the common area watching Harry Potter with our new buddies. A word of warning, there isn't much parking onsite.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2009

Bargain price, really clean, friendly owners. Definitely the best hostel we visited in New Zealand!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2009

We stayed at Watson's Way as part of a group attending a wedding. There were 9 adults and an infant in our group.

Watson's Way is barely a backpackers... its priced as a backpackers (en suite double $72/night, double room $62/night, small double $52/night) but the facilities and service are on another level altogether.

We had a double room (the en suite rooms were all booked) which came with a modern queen sized bed, top quality linen, TV, DVD player and heated towel rail. The room was nice and quiet.

The bathroom facilities were spotlessly clean... four showers and three toilets for 5 rooms in our block (I believe there was a second block too).

In the common areas there was a large living/dining area (with big-screen TV and DVD) and a large well appointed kitchen. Cooking was on two large gas hobs inside or a large BBQ outside. The large balcony had plenty of good quality outdoor furniture and even blinds to protect you from the weather on wet or windy days. Beyond the balcony was a garden with picnic tables, a hammock and fruit trees.

I politely asked Pat (one of the owners) one night if I could take a lemon from her tree... when she saw that I couldn't reach any of them she insisted on getting me one from her own kitchen. From memory the garden had plums, lemons, quinces, apples and kiwifruit.

The location is better than you would think... despite being in a small town. Renwick is actually closer to the major wineries than Blenheim is. A lot of people hire bikes to tour the wineries... and Watson's Way has plenty of bikes for hire. Also in Renwick are three pubs (the English pubis the pick of them), a great butcher and a small supermarket.

We would stay here again without hesitation. We couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2009

We stayed for one night in a double ensuite room and it was such a bargain! Although the room was quite small it was very cosy and had a lot of character - very comfy bed with excellent linen. Close to the local pubs for a meal if you don't want to drive in to Blenheim and perfect for exploring the close by wineries.

Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kmn318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 February 2008

This was a fabulous hostel! The owners were so friendly and helpful. They came out to meet us when we arrived, knew who we were(there were 6 of us), and were such great hosts. They rented us bikes for $10, and gave us vineyard maps and lots of advice, like where to eat lunch. etc. The pride of ownership was really nice to see-they were so friendly and accommodating! Our double ensuite room was clean and cozy with lots of character and the garden area was so beautiful-with lemon and plum trees, picnic tables and a hammock! I would recommend this place to anyone doing vineyard tours-fabulous!

  • Liked — Location, atmosphere, hosts
  • Disliked — no complaints!
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pippypinty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Renwick
1.7 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
5.2 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#9 of 32 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
6.5 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#8 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire
0.4 mi away
Anglesea House Bed & Breakfast
1.6 mi away
Vintners Retreat
Vintners Retreat
#1 of 22 in Blenheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watson's Way Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watson's Way Lodge

Property: Watson's Way Lodge
Address: 56 High Street, Renwick 7204, New Zealand (Formerly Watson's Way Backpackers)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Renwick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Renwick
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Watson's Way Lodge Renwick, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing