We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Comfortable and friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anglesea House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anglesea House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 8 Renwick B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Very pretty house and garden, furnished like a family home. Our twin bedroom was small but comfortable - got a good night's sleep (it's in a quiet spot) - and we had a sitting room at our disposal, too. There was tea and coffee available for us to make as we pleased, which was refreshed as we used it. Breakfast was more than adequate - fresh and tinned fruit, yoghurt and cereals, juice, tea and coffee, scrambled egg on a muffin with bacon, mushrooms and toast plus homemade preserves. Bathroom and loo were down the hall but not a problem because robes are supplied - there's a good hot shower. Diana is a friendly host - she kindly dropped us off at a restaurant in the evening (the house is very well located for exploring the surrounding vineyards). She is very approachable but doesn't intrude upon guests' space. Free wifi too!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    8
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We chose to spend a couple of nights at this B&B while visiting the vineyards nearby. For that, it was ideally situated and Diana the hostess well informed about the wines. But we felt like revenue sources rather than guests. We were limited to a very small part of the house: our somewhat musty room and a parlor where breakfast is served. The house has a very nice main room fronting the gardens but are not available to guests. Breakfast was a bit stingy. The breakfast consisted of choice of cereals, a couple of kiwis for several diners and tinned fruit. For the cooked breakfast, on the tiniest plate imaginable, we were served eggs on top of a English muffin with a single strip of bacon and toast. The next morning, Diana had run out of eggs and we were given 2 sausages which I could not eat. All in all, the home is lovely but the experience was a bit disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

The most enjoyable stay. Diana is a fine and friendly host with much knowledge to share regarding vineyards and culinary delights. A memorable and tasty breakfast in a setting of elegance and tranquility.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed at Anglesea for three nights and had an absolutely great time. Our room was Orange Groove - a very nice and large suite with a separate bedroom and very modern bathroom, much better than on pictures actually. Location in Renwick is perfect for Marlborough wineries, gardens are beautiful. But its not just a nice room which made our stay great - Diana is an absolutely amazing host, makes great breakfasts (cooked, not just "continental") and is a great expert on local restaurants and vineyards. She booked our dinners last-minute and even drove us to our New Year Eve's dinner party, nothing was ever too much trouble - this is what real hospitality is about.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

Previous reviews state that Anglesea is clean, beg to differ. Plenty of cobwebs in the toilet. Big bed but not much room around it. Diana is expert on local vineyards and places to eat, great advice. Good breakfasts, lovely gardens, nice lounge.
Some road noise from main road at back.
Annoyed that Diana charged $10 to use washing machine, thought that excessive. However drying in garden was effective.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuttonRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We've just finished touring the South Island and Anglesea was the first stop on the road. We stayed two nights and enjoyed it thoroughly. Diane was a wonderful host and give us great tips on both food and wine. Can't beat a hearty breakfast and she even catered to specific diets. Beautiful gardens and home, wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
188 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

We've had the pleasure of staying a lot of B&Bs, particularly in New Zealand and we thought that Anglesea was perfectly adequate for a one night stay. Our room was clean and everything was in working order. Breakfast was a bit cramped but tasty. Diane had a great suggestion for dinner and helped us organise transport. Free use of bicycles was a great bonus.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Constantlyontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Renwick
5.5 mi away
Brydan Accommodation
Brydan Accommodation
#7 of 32 in Blenheim
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
6.8 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#8 of 32 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
2.0 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel Heritage Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Knightsbridge Court Motor Lodge
0.4 mi away
Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire
1.5 mi away
Bonniebrook
Bonniebrook
#4 of 8 in Renwick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anglesea House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anglesea House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Anglesea House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 4 Anglesea Street, Renwick 7204, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Renwick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Renwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An attractive Edwardian Villa nestled in extensive gardens with optional outdoor seating on veranda/decks and garden. An ideal honeymoon getaway. Bikes are included in tariff and available for touring the nearby Wine Cellars. 2 Queen rooms have en-suites and 1 is a Unit with private sitting room and deck. The King room overlooks the garden and can provide King twin beds or a Super King bed. The single room is adjacent to a Queen room and is handy for parties of three travelling together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Anglesea House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anglesea House Bed & Breakfast Renwick, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing