We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful 3 night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire
Ranked #2 of 9 Renwick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Picked this B&B from other traveller's recommendations. We were certainly not disappointed.and the beautiful garden setting and outdoor area impressed on arrival.The room was spacious,spotlessly clean and the bed extremely comfortable.The breakfast was also above our expectations with a wonderful selection of cereals,fruit and home made jams.
The warm and genuine hospitality of Diane and Robert are high amongst our many happy memories of our New Zealand trip.

Room Tip: All three rooms looked very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Malcolm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013

What a lovely place to stay in the heart of Marlborough wine country. Hosts were delightful, bed extremely comfortable.
Soothing hottub overlooking vineyards after lovely day of tandem bicycling to many vineyards.
Hosts Diane and Robert are delightful people dedicated to making sure that you have a good time.
Diane provides a vast array of home cooked jams for breakfast and Robert even came and picked us (and our bicycle) up when we got lost.
A gem of a place to stay in wine country.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaPur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I felt compelled to write this review because I rely on Trip Advisor a lot in my travels...and I don't want people to have overly high expectations of Olde Mill House. First, this is less of a B&B and more of a homestay (i.e., the owners' living room is the only common room, so if you're out there, you're out there with them). If you need/want a little more space, this is not the place for you. Second, breakfast consists of toast and cereal -- no hot breakfast option, which I thought was quite disappointing since this place costs $150/night in the off season. We stayed in a lot of B&B's during our two-week trip, but this was the only one that failed to offer a single hot breakfast option. Third, our room was FREEZING at night, as there was no heat in our room, nor a space heater (all other places we stayed provided at least a space heater, since it was Sept.). And fourth, Diane (one of the owners) was unfortunately a bit cold and distant. Which brings me to the positives of this place (and there definitely are some)! First, Robert (one of the owners) is wonderful, warm, and kind. He picked us up at the bus stop and brought us back there (even making a stop on the way back, since we wanted to buy a bottle of wine at one of the wineries before leaving town). He also set us up with bikes, helmets, safety vests, locks, etc. (included in the B&B price) and was always very warm and welcoming. The second positive is that the place is CLEAN and very meticulously organized and cared for. Third, the location is great and well suited to wine tasting by bike. Over all, however, I had to give Olde Mill House just an "average" rating because, while it was a pleasant place to stay, the lack of a common room, heat in our room, and hot breakfast made this seem like far less of a value than other places we visited during our trip.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ADK1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenwickNZ, Owner at Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Hi Sarah, Your review reflects the fact that you cancelled this booking twice , on the first occasion we did not enforce our cancellation policy. So the second time i emailed is this fair, so you came to stay. We now realise that was a mistake as you did not want to be here. We tried to make your stay as pleasant as possible , Pick ups , free bikes, free wi-fi etc.
We advertise that we provide a continental breakfast. Home made cereal, lots of home made preserved fruit & jams ,Cheese,yoghurt, orange juice, Cafe style coffee, etc A good healthy breakfast ,
We are sorry that you failed to find the heater in the wardrobe, we will have them out in future. If you have a problem like this in the future , just ask as all our rooms have heating.
We advertise that we are a homestay style of B&B, most people enjoy some time with the hosts, some are more suited to Motels and keep to themselves.
Diane may have seemed preoccupied as her 90yr old mother had taken ill during your stay.

So, the thank you for the" lovely stay" as you left was not genuine, that reflects on your character .
If you are reading this review please consider the motive behind it .
Thanks Diane & Robert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I stayed at Olde Mill House for one night as part of my "Road Trip" in South Island. I chose it because of the opportunity to do a wine tour by bike. The owners were extremely accommodating, and gave me a map and directions for the tour, as well as the bike and other equipment. Really hospitable, my room had a lovely view across the pretty garden towards Marlborough Sound. It was a quiet an peaceful location. The breakfast included home-made jams and preserves.

One thing that is worth noting is that there is not much choice in Renwick as far as evening meals are concerned. The best advice is to eat during the day at one of the winery restaurants, and then buy a snack to take back to the B&B in the evening. I was visiting in low season, which meant that the number of wineries doing food was limited, so I suggest planning in advance. Driving into Blenheim for food in the evening may not be attractive or even possible after drinking wine during the day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaxChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay here. It is vey central to Marlborough region vineyards and hosts were friendly and very helpful. Bed was comfortable and electric blanket and room heating very welcome. Breakfast is continental with good array of jams and spreads. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayvibes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I highly recommend this extremely comfortable and relaxing accommodation right in the heart of the Marlborough region. The owners are very accommodating, very friendly and very helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and appreciate everything they did to make our stay memorable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Location is amazing for the wine country and the fact they give you complimentary bike hire (from a huge range of bikes) as part of your stay is an added bonus as it is by far the best way around the vineyards.

The couple who run the house are very welcoming and accommodating. For example we arrived very late on our first evening due to a delayed train and they were kind enough to wait up despite the antisocial hour.

Room was nicely decorated and had a lovely patio to sit out on in the sun with good views over into the hills. Overall a great base for our time in the district.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ra392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Renwick
1.9 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
6.4 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
653 reviews
4.1 mi away
St Leonards Vineyard Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Scenic Hotel Marlborough
#4 of 32 in Blenheim
368 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anglesea House Bed & Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Hillsfield House Bed and Breakfast Marlborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire

Address: 9 Wilson Street, Renwick 7204, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Renwick
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Renwick
Price Range: £82 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with us in Renwick the heart of the Marlborough wine region. Our character home is set in beautiful gardens and is refurbished to provide quality accommodation that retains the charm of yesteryear. We have three rooms all with ensuites. Relax in our outdoor spa/bbq area with views to the Richmond ranges. Guests enjoy free: Wine tour Bikes!! wi-fi!! Spa!! and Airport/bus/train pickups!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olde Mill House B & B & Cycle Hire Renwick, New Zealand - Marlborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing