We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stay in motel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haast Lodge Budget Rooms & Motor Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Haast Lodge Budget Rooms & Motor Park
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“stay in motel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

We originally booked a double in the hostel but upgraded at arrival to the motel. The hostel seemed perfectly fine but there are no ensuites and for not much more we stayed in a spacious room with TV and private bath.We stayed for 2 nights but more would have been better. Do not miss the drive to Jackson Bay and the many stops along the way. Stop for several beach walks, in a nature preserve estuary with a signed board walk and learn about white bait fishing.Eat at the shack restaurant at Jackson Bay for a fresh fish lunch. There is a small shopping area nearby in Haast with 3 shops and a very knowledgable and gracious owner and a 15 year old super friendly and young at heart dog. One of the shops has a small library of inexpensive new and used books and great NZ honey confections for sale. This is an area that should not be missed.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    18
    9
    4
    4
See reviews for
12
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Whakatane, Bay of Plenty,New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

We didn't know what to expect but ended up staying two nights but three nights would have been better as there is alot to see. Nice walking tracks a bit further south and Jackson Bay was delightful.
Accommodation was first class. Our room was super clean and tidy and plenty of room to spread out. The showers were spotless and lots of very clean basins.
The communal lounge and kitchen was very spacious and it was so much fun meeting all the other people there. Many of them sat around in the lounge watching the rugby on Friday night and talking amongst themselves it was great and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
We will be returning next year as we didn't have enough time to do a couple of the walking tracks. I highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Ground rooms were near the communal kitchen and lounge which we liked
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crestwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night here in a motorhome, en route from the glaciers to Queenstown. The park is ideally located just off SH6, close to the last petrol station for miles. The highlight was the brilliantly stocked, large, clean and inviting campers kitchen/lounge area in a large barn-type building. Reception was open until 8pm which was handy as we arrived relatively late. Camping pitches vary - we had a nice grassy one at the back, but there were a large number of unattractive Tarmac parking bays.
Toilets and showers were clean and well designed. Unnecessary 50c charge for the showers, but hard to grumble too much about this as the camping fees were very reasonable, much cheaper than you would get at one of the Top10 parks.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ian1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagan, Myanmar
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Arrived late and managed to negotiate a 'honeymoon' rate as only the ageing Irish can. Got lovely room with ensuite and off road parking at the door. The manager's a character of the first order, which suited us and would be typical of this remote part of NZ as became apparent as our evening unfolded. No complaints from us at all, and agree with the the manager in bawling out the lazy guys leaving the kitchen in a tip. Expect to hear it as it is here!

The only pub in Haast is a blast too. Check out the local 'rare breeds' menu on the notice board and then buy the author a jug of beer. The evening will then begin!

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Modern, clean hostel with very friendly and helpfull manager giving usefull advises on many activities. Interesting huge lounge.
Shower is paid but you get the coin for a 7-minute shower at the reception gratis so this is fair in my view.

I would recommend this accomodation to everybody who travels from Fiordland to West coast or viceversa.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cimicak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

Stayed in a 2 bedroom motel unit in Oct 2011. Clean & comfortable, very friendly & helpful reception. A let down for our Haast experience was the only restaurant/pub appears to exploit their position with an expensive menu, and no simple choices. Not sure what one would get for kids there! Our disappointment made us head out the door for the supermarket to get take aways where we were met with very unfriendly service. Another let-down for the place but at no fault of Haast Lodge! Both the restaurant and store can go check with them on customer service!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

Stoped in haast after a long day at the glaciers, this backpacker is a convinient stop, small simple clean and confortable rooms, lwell stock kitchen, and large lounge area with a good vibe. The receptionist was helpfull and pointed us to local forest walks we otherwise would of missed, haast beach was the best... wild and wonderfull. We ended up spending two nights. Haast town itself is not much but the surrounding make up for it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nelly p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
1.6 mi away
Heartland World Heritage Hotel
1.5 mi away
Haast River TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Aspiring Court Motel
Aspiring Court Motel
#1 of 2 in Haast
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Hannah's Homestead
Hannah's Homestead
#3 of 4 in Haast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
3.4 mi away
Bay Road Motel
Bay Road Motel
#2 of 4 in Haast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
66.6 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haast Lodge Budget Rooms & Motor Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haast Lodge Budget Rooms & Motor Park

Property: Haast Lodge Budget Rooms & Motor Park
Address: Marks Road | Haast, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 0000, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal stop over located halfway between the Glaciers and Queenstown. We offer quality accommodation for every budget. Our range consist of self-contained studio rooms, buget double, twin, dorms rooms all with shared facilities, powered van site and tent sites. We are an easy walk from iconic Hard Antler Bar and Restaurant and shops. Activities in the area consist of River Safaries on either the Waiatoto or the Haast, helicopter flights, bush and beach walks, scenic Jackson Bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Haast Lodge Budget Rooms & Motor Park New Zealand/South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing