We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal for beaking the journey” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haast Lodge Budget Rooms & Motor Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Haast Lodge Budget Rooms & Motor Park
Montgomery, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Ideal for beaking the journey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed on our way from Queenstown to the glaciers and had our first meeting with the dreaded sandflies....not the fault of the campsite...but please be prepared!

The site is really a car park, but the communal kitchen and sitting area makes up for it. Big room, encourages conversation...good cooking facilities.

Receptionist at the time from Wales where we come from very friendly! We even helped them cook a crayfish which their boss had given them.

Everything clean, could just do with firmer locks on the doors in the ladies area....maybe a little too relaxed.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SuetheDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    18
    9
    4
    4
See reviews for
12
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed one night here in the motel area. Our room was configured to sleep upto 4, 2 single beds and 1 queen. It had heaps of hot water, good heating. Haast is very small so don't expect much. Its quite scenic and peaceful. There is no cellphone coverage here and don't expect any till you get to Fox Glacier. The Lodge does have good quality paid wireless.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the lodge one night on our way from the Franz Josef glacier to Queenstown. There isn't much to the town...very small, but good for a nights stay. We knew we were going to be arriving late so we called ahead and they left the rooms ready for us. We appreciated that!
The rooms were nice. It was pretty chilly that night so we were glad the rooms had heaters. Be prepared to pay (I think it was 50 cents) if you want a hot shower. We didn't know this so we were glad some other travelers were able to help us since we didn't have any coins. Kitchen and eating areas are spacious.
One down side we noticed is that sound really traveled within the hallways. When we were in our room (near the kitchen) we could hear noise from the kitchen, the bathroom and the other rooms. Made it a little hard to go to bed when we heard kids down the hall.
Overall nice place to stay!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich Spa Worcs
Level Contributor
113 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed for one night early March on a powered site enroute to Fox Glacier. Small and basic and clean has all the facilities. Not a lot to do in Haast but a good stop off if travelling up from Queenstown or Wanaka. Good value for money would recommend for a night or two but know more.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MalViDroitwichWorcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
147 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed only one night en route to West Coast, New Zealand. We just made it through the Haast Pass as the Pass was closing at 6:30. When I phoned to book, the owner said he'd hold the room till 7:15 knowing that we'd either be through by then or not. He had a long queue of people waiting to book in from the western end as they had mistimed the road closure! So we were lucky. It was a very clean, well-organized motel with everything we needed to cook supper, clean up and have a comfortable, quiet sleep.
My only regret is that we didn't book into the cheaper backpackers' rooms. The backpackers' area looked extremely comfortable, clean and well-organized and was about NZ$50 cheaper. The only difference, it seems, was that we would have had to share a bathroom but there were lots of them and they all looked clean. Next day, the owner gave me good instructions about where to visit in the area. Very good stop-over.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed one night at a powered site and were able to use all of the parks facilities. The communal bathrooms were very clean, showers were 50c for 7 minutes, but that's a small price to pay for a lovely hot shower. The kitchen/dining/lounge area was spotless, well lit and had plenty of extra pots/pans etc.. There was no playground but there was a community one in walking distance down the road. Price was great. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

We originally booked a double in the hostel but upgraded at arrival to the motel. The hostel seemed perfectly fine but there are no ensuites and for not much more we stayed in a spacious room with TV and private bath.We stayed for 2 nights but more would have been better. Do not miss the drive to Jackson Bay and the many stops along the way. Stop for several beach walks, in a nature preserve estuary with a signed board walk and learn about white bait fishing.Eat at the shack restaurant at Jackson Bay for a fresh fish lunch. There is a small shopping area nearby in Haast with 3 shops and a very knowledgable and gracious owner and a 15 year old super friendly and young at heart dog. One of the shops has a small library of inexpensive new and used books and great NZ honey confections for sale. This is an area that should not be missed.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
1.6 mi away
Heartland World Heritage Hotel
1.5 mi away
Haast River TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Aspiring Court Motel
Aspiring Court Motel
#1 of 2 in Haast
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Hannah's Homestead
Hannah's Homestead
#3 of 4 in Haast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
3.4 mi away
Bay Road Motel
Bay Road Motel
#2 of 4 in Haast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
56.6 mi away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haast Lodge Budget Rooms & Motor Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haast Lodge Budget Rooms & Motor Park

Property: Haast Lodge Budget Rooms & Motor Park
Address: Marks Road | Haast, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 0000, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal stop over located halfway between the Glaciers and Queenstown. We offer quality accommodation for every budget. Our range consist of self-contained studio rooms, buget double, twin, dorms rooms all with shared facilities, powered van site and tent sites. We are an easy walk from iconic Hard Antler Bar and Restaurant and shops. Activities in the area consist of River Safaries on either the Waiatoto or the Haast, helicopter flights, bush and beach walks, scenic Jackson Bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Haast Lodge Budget Rooms & Motor Park New Zealand/South Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing