We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Salmon Farm” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paringa Salmon Farm Cafe

Paringa Salmon Farm Cafe
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Salmon Farm and Licensed Cafe, located in remote southern South Westland.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Salmon Farm”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Forget the fish, get to watch the staff wash dishes as you take the plastic wrapping off your food and eat. Tired and in need of some serious updating food wise and environment. Wouldn't bother to stop again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    48
    36
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Overrated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Expensive and very basic. The $14 special was nothing more than no name toasted seeded bread cut in halves with some smoked salmon draped on it. A side serve of hollandaise sauce. No salad, no frills. High price. The sashimi was not appetising at all. Odd shaped pieces of salmon tail on a styrofoam plate. Worst hot chocolate. Very dark and tasteless. at $4.50, you'd expect a lot better. The coffee is quite weak as well. Don't bother eating here, just let the kids feed the salmon and keep going. Better off at the Alpine Salmon Lake Pukaki.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BSM56F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Salmon farm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

From the road going North this place looks a little dilapidated but once you turn down the road to enter, there's a lovely cafe with salmon in growing ponds, which you can feed for a dollar or two.We had the devonshire tea. The scones weren't the best we had tried but still nice. Purchase a piece of smoked salmon to enjoy later....they even give you some ice to keep it cold..Nice

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Delicious smoked salmon. Kids couldn't wait to try so ate it in the car with vita wheats. Bring a knife. delicious. Fun to feed the fish too. A great stop.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank 5groovytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
“A tourist trap....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stopped for break. The place is pretty isolated, off the road and was almost empty by the time we arrived. We were quickly fascinated to watch the salmon being farmed, and decided to eat something.

Not much of an atmosphere indoors, it is a self catering facility, and unlike the NZ "all smiles" tradition, welcome was pretty lukewarm. I had a Salmon Platter which was pretty average, very thin and pricy for a local production, we had also hoped to order some salmon sashimi (which we saw for sale at the take-away counter), but apparently they had ran out of it in the kitchen for the day (strange considering they farm it). We suggested for them to take some from the take-away counter, which they simply dismissed. Not much of a commercial gesture... anyway.
Upon our leaving the place, a commercial bus stopped, we then understood that considering it is a forced stop for most bus passengers, there is not much interest from staff in being service oriented. A bit of a disappointment, considering the place could be the perfect stop in an empty long road....

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chez_Ilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paringa Salmon Farm Cafe also viewed

Mahitahi, West Coast Region
Haast, West Coast Region
 
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Paringa Salmon Farm Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing