We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So So”

Paringa Salmon Farm Cafe
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Salmon Farm and Licensed Cafe, located in remote southern South Westland.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
525 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 827 helpful votes
“So So”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The intercity bus stops here for lunch break and this restaurant rears its own salmon. I am vegetarian so I was unhappy to see the salmon in small tanks. I bought the coffee which was So so. I got bitten by a sand fly here so take your mozzie spray here.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Smeets P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    49
    39
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Feilding, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant break after a long drive”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Stopped here after a long drive from Queenstown. Very pleasant friendly staff. Our light meals were fine. Nice to have a good covered walkway into the cafe out of the Westland rain. This is the only cafe in the area miles from anywhere else in both directions. We enjoyed the stop.

Helpful?
1 Thank ubutee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
242 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good coffee and the only decent cafe for many miles”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stopped here for coffee and were glad to have found somewhere after driving north on State Highway 6 for miles without seeing anywhere halfway decent. Fortunately, we missed the coach parties and there were very few people there when we went. This cafe rears its own salmon and specialises in fresh and smoked salmon products that you can buy to take away as well as eat on the premises. The coffee was good and there was also quite a wide selection of paua-shell jewellery and other souvenirs. I am rating the cafe average because we only ordered coffee, so we could not judge the food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cleoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great for a coffee and a snack”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This is where the bus tours stop, but it is one of the few stops in this area that offer a cafe for some refreshment and maybe a salmon snack.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank meklof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“From the Basil Fawlty school of customer service”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Stopped here just after Xmas 2013. When we arrived it was fairly quiet, we ordered our (delicious but pricey) cling-filmed sandwiches and took them on to the balcony to eat. So far, so peaceful. Then a bus or two arrived and the café quickly filled up. Perhaps it was the sudden rush of (gasp) customers that prompted the following performance from (we could only presume) the manager…
Arriving on the balcony with a bowl, he bellowed “WHO ORDERED THE FISH CHOWDER?”
Silence from the stunned diners.
The daughter of a young family sitting next to where he stood piped up: “It was me.” “WHERE’S YOUR TABLE NUMBER?” he demanded, “HOW CAN I BE SURE THAT THIS IS YOUR ORDER WHEN YOU DON’T HAVE YOUR NUMBER?” to which the parents calmly explained that when a member of staff had brought their coffee order out, they had taken the table number away with them. This apparently wasn’t a satisfactory explanation; he held fast to the chowder and boomed “DID ANYONE ELSE ORDER A FISH CHOWDER?” at the bewildered customers.
More silence.
So somewhat reluctantly, he set the chowder down for the girl, muttering “you should really have your number, how can I know whose order it is if you don’t have your number…” (Note: no apology) and to the relief of everyone gathered, disappeared back inside.
We (and probably every customer in earshot) were stunned! What an appalling way to speak to someone, never mind a customer! He was a fairly large man, and with such an aggressive temperament, I found him genuinely intimidating. We left swiftly after this spectacle vowing never to eat there and line his pockets again.
Yes the fresh salmon was lovely, but it’s possible to get fresh salmon elsewhere where you won’t be publicly screamed at.
Avoid.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paringa Salmon Farm Cafe also viewed

Mahitahi, West Coast Region
Haast, West Coast Region
 
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Paringa Salmon Farm Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing