We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Homestay on South Island... simple as that.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ropatini's Homestay B & B
Ranked #4 of 9 Fox Glacier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Llandrillo, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Best Homestay on South Island... simple as that.”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Fox Glacier was my base on the month long trip to South Island as my son is working as a Guide on the Glacier. I was very wary leaving my 'Bear Grylls' type son to sort me out a place to stay.... I like a comfy bed, he sleeps in ice caves. However.... my faith is restored!
On my 4700km drive around the Island I stayed at everything from top hotels to Back Packers but I have to say the Homestay was my favourite and my stay at Ropatini's with Collin and Trish topped the lot. I stayed five says in total and it was as if I had known them for many years when it was time to go. They are easy to get on with and so very helpful. The accommodation was really very very good... lovely rooms, most en-suite, comfy beds, powerful showers and a great location.
My favourite part of the day was breakfast... a relaxed affair, cereals, fresh eggs, fruits, muffins, toast and more. It was the view of the mountains and meeting people from all over the world and we all had a story to tell or listen to. Much more enjoyable than a Motel room.
My hosts even helped me with my plans for my trip around the Island. Collin and Trish are perfect hosts who really enjoy what they do and that's what makes it a special experience.
I have only ever given 5 stars to two places I have stayed at, both top hotels, one in Scotland one in Niagara Falls... Collin and Trish thoroughly deserve my 5 star rating.
Lake Matheson is minutes away as is the Fox Glacier Town and Glacier itself.. you must see!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John5389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allforonenoneforall, Owner at Ropatini's Homestay B & B, responded to this review, 16 January 2015
Hi John. Thank you for your wonderful review. I am so glad to hear that we rate above an "ice cave" !! We so enjoyed our time with you (and Bear Grylls) and enjoyed all of your stories. It is exactly because of people like you that we do B&B. We so enjoy meeting people from all over the world and it makes us wish that we all lived closer rather than on oposite sides of the globe. Sorry it's taken me so long to respond, I've only just my head around this. We hope 2015 brings you all you are wishing for and hope ths Bear is doing fine and is happy. Please come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    27
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
97
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Our stay at Ropatini's was very memorable! Excellent help and advice on what to do. Breakfast was great and the shower was fantastic. Collin and Trish are very welcoming and interesting to talk to. The view was absolutely gorgeous, looking out at the mountains. I got to feed the chickens, collect the eggs and walk the sheep! What more could I ask?

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster PA
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Ropatini's was one of the highlights of our 5-week, around-the-world trip. Collin and Trish could not be more inviting, conversational, creative, fun or helpful. The furnishings were superb and many handmade by Collin. Trish is a culinary queen beyond compare. The spirit after feasting was high enough one night to prompt vocal solos.

Collin and Trish please come stay with us in Lancaster, Pennsylvania. S�ren & Bonnie West

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Soren2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Do not overlook this jewel of accommodation in Fox Glacier amongst the many motel and hotel signs . The setting is idyllic, with views of the peaks of Mount Cook, Tasman and Fox. Colin and Trish are friendly, welcoming and highly talented hosts, touch Colin's table and wood carvings and sample Trish's 'award winning' eggs for breakfast. Rospitinis is perfectly situated near the town centre, but with ample outdoor space. Surrounded by beautiful gardens, majestic mountains , evergreen Forrest's and such good people you breathe in wellness and leave with a sense of well being.
Linda and Michael Glasgow Scotland

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horndean Hants
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We were very pleased with our accommodation here and only wish our trip would have allowed us to stay longer. Best shower so far and big comfortable bed. Lovely views and location handy. Very quiet, We loved the animals. Could not get any mainstream channels on the TV but to be fair we didnt ask about it. Cabin well equipped including magazines. Hosts were most helpful and settled us in with a welcoming snack and recommendations for food and attractions. Wi-Fi signal fine in the external cabin for us. Breakfast plentiful and tasty.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsG222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
169 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed in a garden studio room for I night including dinner & breakfast. I thought the accommodation was delightful. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom huge with a lovely wet room shower. The views from the window at the front magnificent. They also have a pet lamb who is very vocal & entertaining. Both Colin & Trish couldn't have been more helpful. Organising our helicopter flight into the mountains. We had a gorgeous meal with them. We even played a dice game he plays with his family! Breakfast was delicious too. I loved our stay and wish we could have stayed longer. I have very fond memories of our visit!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank magsHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Unfortunately we came to this B&B after staying at some really comfortable and stunning B&Bs previously, which meant that our expectations were high and we were slightly underwhelmed with this place. The cabins are quite out of date and although there is a TV it was tiny, and the wifi signal was terrible. The shower was very good though, and it is nice to have your own cabin so you can come and go as you please. The breakfast was fine, not as good as some places, but plenty of food in the continental style. The hosts were very friendly and pleasant, and the views from the dining room to Mount Cook are wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.6 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#4 of 10 in Fox Glacier
269 reviews
0.5 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ropatini's Homestay B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ropatini's Homestay B & B

Property: Ropatini's Homestay B & B
Address: 81 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ropatinis Homestay B&B is a superior quality, friendly Bed & Breakfast accommodation, set amongst a beautiful large garden in Fox Glacier, West Coast, New Zealand. We can provide garden studios (with ensuite) or rooms in the main house (with ensuite or share facilities). A generous continental breakfast is provided every morning, scrumptious home baking and we can also provide a delicious dinner on request. We are always happy to provide our guests with information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ropatini's Homestay B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing