We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Glacier Helicopters
Book In Advance
More Info
US$179.29*
and up
Franz Josef Glacier Helicopter Flight with Snow Landing
More Info
US$231.58*
and up
Fox and Franz Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef
More Info
US$179.29*
and up
Fox Glacier Helicopter Flight with Snow Landing
Ranked #3 of 16 things to do in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Glacier Helicopters offers a range of scenic helicopter flights from 20 minutes to 40 minutes. Charter flights are available and can vary from 20 minutes to several hours duration. Flights depart from Franz Josef Glacier and Fox Glacier. Our flights encompass the Mount Cook National Park, and both Franz Josef Glacier and Fox Glacier. Glacier landings are our specialty. Our helicopter flights allow people with limited time to “get away from it all” and experience area of New Zealand’s wilderness renowned for its outstanding natural beauty.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Booked the flight through our motel and were given a discount. Decided on the 40 minute trip as this was our first helicopter experience, better make it a good one! It was one of the highlights of our trip to New Zealand, the pilot flew so close to the sides and tops of the mountains, it was fabulous! The snow landing was brilliant, plenty of time to take photos and enjoy the experience, the sun was shining and it couldn't have been a better day! An absolute must if you are visiting fox glacier! We flew over the mountains and both the glaciers also.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KathrynT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thanks for your amazing review Kathryn, seeing the Glaciers and Mount Cook up close is a great choice for your first helicopter flight, we are so glad the weather played its part for you and you got to have such a wonderful experience.
Thanks again from the team at Glacier Helicopters.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    34
    4
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franz Josef, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I am so scared of flying but had never been on a helicopter and was almost not going to, So glad I did, helicopters are surprisingly stable I found out. The best thing I have ever done and was so so amazing. The pilot gave a good commentary and was very funny. I am going to highly recommend this to everybody. Being from NZ I am glad to be reminded how beautiful this country really is.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ayger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your great review and for sharing your photos of the flight. It’s great you overcame your fear of flying and went up, being from NZ we often do take its beauty for granted and it’s nice to be reminded just how lucky we are to live in such an amazing country.
Thanks again from the team at Glacier Helicopters.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth WA
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We were hopeful to do this chopper ride however the weather let us down.
The following morning we awoke to the buzz of choppers so went down to book our ride.
We waited around town til noon but it was worth the wait.
Never having been on a helicopter before we were pretty impressed.
The pilot was informative with points of interest.
We were set down on the snow for about 10 minutes, long enough for an epic snowball fight!
We then contnued to fly over the different glaciers getting a brilliant view down into the big caverns of blue.
Well worthwhile.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JellyBWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for your review, the weather can be very changeable here on the West Coast and we’re very happy you got to have your first helicopter ride with Glacier Helicopters. All of our pilots have a vast knowledge of the Glaciers and surrounding areas and try to share that during the flights.
Thanks again from the team at Glacier Helicopters.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tea Gardens, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“What a pity”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

All bright and chirpy, ready for our helicopter flight over the glaciers, we were informed that as there was only two of us, we couldn't go!
Glacier helicopters said it was because of some regulation, but that's not the point of writing this review. Why were we not told of the minimum requirement of three bums in seats?
Very unhappy.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank BobSuker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I recently took a flight around Mt Tasman, Mt Cook and Fox Glacier with Glacier Helicopters. The trip took approx half an hour and we got a $20 discount per person because we booked through our motel. Staff at office happy and friendly. 5people on our flight, 4 across back seat, 2 males and 2 females and it was pretty squashy. Flight was AMAZING! Pilot flew close to mountains and gave commentary on way. Landing on top of mountain with 5-10 mins to walk around and take photos was excellent. Pilot didn't offer to take photos of us with our camera on top of mountain, only offered to take photo of us on his camera that we would have had to pay $20 for once back on the ground. Other passengers took photos for us. All in all an amazing experience which you have to do if visiting Fox. Professional company. An experience we will never forget.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your review, one of the great things about taking a helicopter flight is that you can get much closer to the mountains and Glaciers for a better view. We are very happy you enjoyed your experience and do apologise that the pilot didn’t take any pictures for you, our pilots are normally more than happy to take pictures with your own camera for you as well as an option to purchase one from them in an information card as a souvenir.
Thanks again from the team at Glacier Helicopters.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glacier Helicopters also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Glacier Helicopters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing