We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“100+ year old building worth the stay :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Reviewed 27 October 2011

i stayed here bout 3 weeks ago and is was great different but great. as i came in to fox i couldnt miss the hotel big white building on the left as you come into town heading south looks old well turns out over 100 years old. i was greated with a warm smile and showen to my room up stairs the room was good the bed was comfy and room was warm and even i couldnt use all the hot water. dinner time i went to the cafe down stairs looked at the menu and it looked great however being in a fish and chip mood but only fish on the menu was monk fish and veg on menu i asked the waiter if they had another fish and few minutes lated he came back offering me a different type off fish :) it was great then after dinner which was great i went to the bar for a drink got talked into playing pool and meet some of the locals who there family members built this hotel in the 1800's breakfast was also as good as dinner the night before. over all for the price to stay here the top class service and the homely feel of the hotel i would recommend this hotel to every one :)

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sean s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

146 - 152 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2011

We did not stay at this hotel but were forced to eat at the restaurant since it was the only one open on a rainy Sunday winter night. I just want to warn people NOT to eat here under any circumstances. After waiting an hour and a half for our dinner to arrive(the restaurant only had 5 tables taken), the waiter brought the most disgusting excuse for food you can imagine. To top it off, my son ordered a burger with just lettuce and ketchup and the waiter brought him a bun with just lettuce and ketchup (no meat) insisting that it was a "burger". He then, tried to charge us $18 for this so called "burger". What a disappointment to be in such a beautiful place at the edge of the world and have such a bad experience. The night before, we had a fabulous casual meal at Cook Saddle. You should go there instead!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 4foolsofwonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

I had to stay a night at this hotel due to bad weather, the room was 3 star & it met with that standard of rating, the staff were very friendly & nothing was a problem at all, the food was very good & a fun bar which also had local west coasters drinking in it which made for a very friendly atmosphere, all in all for the money it was well worth it, clean , friendly & value for money, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie-Loan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

There can't be much to say about a small hotel in the middle of almost nowhere..
This hotel is in the town of Fox Glacier, and about 10min drive from Lake Matheson.

We viewed several rooms, and given the fact this hotel was built in 1860 and originally served as worker's lodgings ... no two rooms are alike. The rooms were reasonably well kept, and comfortable . No complaints ... just not much of a view either.

The shining star of the occasion is the service. I commend Lee Rigby , who was the duty manager that day, whose service was clearly the best of all the places I stayed in NZ. He personelly saw to our luggage , requests for extra heaters etc.

The food in the restaurant was not bad ... and we also had drinks (reasonably priced) at the bar, which is frequented by many locals. There was also a nice fire going.

If you, like me, only have one night to spend here ... I would be happy to recommend this place.

Room Tip: View a few?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keltzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

We stayed here for two nights. We had to chase around to find someone to check us in (one of the bar staff helped out). Our room was fine - clean, spacious bathroom with a good shower, a balcony which was shared with others so you did feel overlooked. The breakfast was good on the first day, but on the second we hit the dining room just after a Tour Group had been through, so it was like locusts had visited! Overall it was OK, the service wasn't exactly poor, but it wasn't good either - just non-existent! Reviewer be warned that this is a hotel that groups use, so the hotel can get swamped.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sussexgirliegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2011

Thank goodness we only stayed here for one night as our room was small and dark on the ground floor with no privacy from people walking past the window.
I couldn't believe my eyes when I saw the shower as it was just a curtain around a wet floor, but to be fair, there was plenty of hot water.
Dinner was OK, but breakfast was chaos. There was another group eating at the same time and having "seconds" before we had a chance to get anything hot. I do think the hotel could have arranged for there to have been a 1/2 gap between the two groups eating, although the breakfast was not much to write home about.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAW_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

My stay at Fox Glacier Hotel was comfortable, but not outstanding. The rooms seemed somewhat gloomy, and the toilets lacked a shower tub, with only a curtain partitioning off the shower, making the whole floor all wet. The buffet food lacked variety. It's OK if your staying one night, moving on to another place the next day, but don't expect a top-class experience.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank japanwafuwafu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.1 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
364 reviews
10.0 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,401 reviews
9.9 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier

Address: 11 Cook Flat Road | P O Box 2, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Price Range: £89 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing