We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Keep the noise down!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Glasgow
Level Contributor
120 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Keep the noise down!”
Reviewed 11 March 2008

We stayed here for one night as part of a tour group. We were accommodated in an adjoining block, affectionately termed "Stalag13" by our guide. Walls are thin but if you have climbed the glacier and had a few beers, all you might create and hear are snores!!
There is a fairly lively bar in the Hotel and a couple of other restaurants/bars in the village.
The room was basic and clean and considering all, we would return there.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    43
    61
    30
    29
See reviews for
40
87
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brightlingsea
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2007

We also did the tour with Kirra and when we got to this hotel we could not believe what we saw, the part that Kirra stay in is what they call the annex it looked more like army barracks from the outside and inside was worse cracked sinks dirty showers and the walls were so thin you could hear everthing from the next room the view of an oil tank and rubbish left a lot to be desired.
We had paid with Kirra for this but decided that it was so bad that we could not stay there so got a room in another hotel at our expense you have been warned

  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Katejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fox Glacier hotels

Milton Keynes UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2007

We travelled with Kirra tours so we didn't book the hotel ourselves, it was just one booked for us as part of the tour.
It was easily the worst one we stayed in during our whole time in NZ which was 24 days, we had two rooms, one for us, one for our teenage daughters, our had a leaky pipe in the bathroom which dripped whenever you used the loo and the room smelt damp. Our daughters room had a cracked sink, previously mentioned in another review i see, so it must have been like it for ages, or they had a selection of cracked sinks. I would not stay here again.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank WelovedNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2006

The "hotel" has got a few different buildings, and it was quite hard to locate the reception. The room we had was small and cold (heater not working 100%). There were stains on my duvet and the tv didn't even work. The toilet was dirty and the water from the tab was yellowish.

The only good things about this place are
1. the cleaners were nice and helpful, they gave us extra towels
2. right next to the fox glacier tour shop
3. price

Not really a great place to stay at all but if you aren't willing to pay much for accommodation you could consider this hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dirty water and toilet
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janda0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 9 April 2006

Just returned from a fantastic 5 weeks in NZ but the lowest point was at this hotel. We were given a room next to kichen extractor, it was grubby, it had a crack in the sink, it was dark, paper on wall was pealing, no water came out of the hot tap.......after complaining we were given a room for one of the 2 nights we were there in the new suite at the back , room 118 i think, very nice as it was new, this was the quality we were expecting, ececpt the fire alarm kept bleeping in the corridor all night. 2nd night we had to go back into main hotel as the new rooms had been block booked. This room was also over bar and had extractors on all night. Also had to use tolet tissue to block large gaps in window. Manager not very helpful. JUST DONT GO TO THIS HOTEL

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, B.C.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2006

Do not stay here if you can avoid it. The place is up for sale and has been left to go to ruin. It is literally falling apart and can only be described as a dump. It is sad to see in what was probably at one time a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank carolibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2006

The reception area was just a taste of things to come. The dated faded decor reminded me of the B&Bs I stayed in on school journeys in the early 1970s. Had to drag my suitcases up to my room on the first floor past the peeling wallpaper in the hallway. The room was dissapointing, small with no central heating, just an electric heater and major condensation on the windows. The en suite was accessed through a sliding door which revealed a metal shower tray with a dingy shower curtain. I felt oblighed to wear my flip flops in the shower... The small sink spluttered hot water from the hot tap. There was a fuzzy picture from the wall mounted TV. The service in the adjoining bar restaurant was abismal. I observed a large table of dinners having their meals served with 20 minutes gaps between plates of food being served and this was just for the main course. The order of one of the diners seemed to have been forgetten altogether and she had to have her money refunded, as did I for the dessert I had ordered which had clearly been forgotten by the waitress, then when reordered did not appear for another 20 minutes at which point I asked for my money back. The only redeeming feature of this hotel was the member of staff called Jean who worked in the breakfast room in the mornings, then cleaned the rooms in the afternoon. My trip to the glacier made up for the dissapointing accomodation to some extent. This was the only low point in accommodation terms in the otherwise excellent B&B/hotel accommodation I experienced during my stay in New Zealand. There are other more modern hotels in the Fox Glacier region and I would suggest that anyone thinking about staying avoid this one if at all possible.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SurreyGirl198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.1 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
1.0 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
10.0 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier

Property: Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Address: 11 Cook Flat Road | P O Box 2, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing