We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a pleasant country hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Sure it's getting old and the accommodation wing is not your modern five star hotel. It's a country hotel in a small town after all. We slept well, the room was warm. The dining room only opened at 7am for breakfast but staff were pleasant and cheerful. We were staying overnight on a coach trip so it suited its purpose well. As with every other hotel we staying at in the South Island the lack of free wi-fi in the rooms is a let down.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobandDeirdre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
There are newer reviews for Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 120 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2013

The front desk staff were great--got us ice and directions for the TV, the latter of which could have been resolved by a simple set of directions taped to the TV--how are we to know that the power button is not how you turn on the TV?!
However, the room was unbelievably small, and the sliding door for the bathroom did not fit the opening. Thanks heavens we are an old married couple and not a couple experiencing a first weekend together because it did not close:)!
This hotel is in serious need of renovation, and we would not recommend this place.
The professionalism of the staff is the only reason I gave it two stars and not one.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank JARPHX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Great location - the girl working behind the desk was very helpful and informative. The room was large and clean. However, it is an old building and needed some maintenance in the bathroom - the tub specifically had a few cracked walls. Also it was a bit odd that the bathroom sink was in the bedroom. Overall it was okay sine we only spent one night.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Only stayed one night at this hotel as we were on a tour. The room was cleanish but very dated. We could hear everything said in the room next to ours as the walls were so thin! Breakfast was a problem they had two coach parties in which meant getting a table was difficult and they kept running out on food on the buffet. The hotel needs a bit of rennovation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane Wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We had to book ourselves in here at the last minute so had not done any research on the hotel. The room and bathroom were adequate sizes though the bathroom looked a bit run down - a bit odd not having a loo seat... Very good location for shops / restaurants. On the whole I would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EJB186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

This hotel has had mixed reviews. We had two couples and one had a room in the original hotel, one the annex. The main hotel room was a little small, the annex room larger. The main hotel with its timber construction is naturally a bit noisy. Restaurant staff were a bit inexperienced and made errors.
Some things could be done better, but the hotel is not a disaster by any means. Not a 4 but not a 2 either.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JimandNarelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

excellent hotel, staff polite and courteous, warm comfortable lounges and dining room, service good, food very good and served hot, rooms serviced well, withinn short walking distance to shops and attractions. definately recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: all rooms were on ground floor, there were no complaints from travelling party.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donald Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.1 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
361 reviews
19.0 mi away
Hermitage Hotel
Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
1,975 reviews
9.9 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
405 reviews
19.3 mi away
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier

Address: 11 Cook Flat Road | P O Box 2, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Price Range: £78 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing