We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not ruin your Christmas, do NOT eat here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
196 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Do not ruin your Christmas, do NOT eat here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

We wrote to staff following our visit and have heard nothing in response.

This is the only place to eat on Christmas Day in Fox Glacier and we would encourage you to either stay somewhere else and drive in the following morning or buy supplies and make your own meal. Anything would be better than paying a large sum of money for school canteen quality food.

We were highly disappointed and put off by the meal that was served on the 25th of Dec. The menu sounded good but the reality was the worst meal we have had during our time in New Zealand and our worst christmas meal to date. For $140, we expect decent quality food. What we received was dry and terribly cooked turkey, lamb and chicken. The vegetables were largely soggy, watery and tasteless. The corn was watery and just plain horrid. The cooked potatoes were spongy and brown all the way through. They should have been roasted with some crispness on the outside, savoury taste and fluffiness or soft insides. The cold salads, garden salad and coleslaw being the exceptions, were also awful. The various piles of cream that were supposed to be dessert was inedible. The only decent piece of food was the ham.

We were in and out of the dining room in 30mins and went to bed hungry. We told our waiter about how awful the meal was at the time but he did not care. We went back to our hotel and told them never to send any of their guests to Heartland hotel for Christmas dinner. People should stock up at the supermarket, eat before arriving in fox glacier or plan to arrive the following morning.

Hopefully someone else's Christmas can be spared. Ours was ruined.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Constantlyontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    42
    60
    30
    29
See reviews for
40
85
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bombay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

Located in the serene Te Wahipounamu area the Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier is a boutique property. It was booked as a layover in course of our NZ trip. The place was a nice one to stay for a short period and kudos to our travel portal of Newzealandtourister.com for arranging a stay. They also liaised with the resort officials and managed to arrange for a budget package for us.

Being a foodie I would like bring out the plus points in the food gourmet initially. The dining room only opened at 7am for the breakfast and it stayed open for a considerable duration of time. Breakfast was in built in the room rate and fare contained an elaborate menu of bacon, sausages, hash brownies, mushrooms, grilled tomatoes, baked beans and an assortment of breads/toast, cereals, pastries, tea, coffee, frappes, milk shakes and fruit juice served in a buffet style.

The venison and veal ribs to start the main course were quite heavy and enormous. The side dish of fish and chips was really tasty as it was freshly battered and was quite white and boneless. Service was the only minor blip as it was a bit slow.

Based on our stay our guess was that rooms facing the front tower had a reasonable view. The central apartment was getting a touch old and our wing needed some styling. The place is a country hotel after all and located in a small town it provided the best to its abilities. As we were staying overnight on a layover trip we were not looking for a huge extravagant place and thus it suited our purpose well.
As with the other hotels in and around the area of South Island the lack of free wi-fi was there in
the Fox Glacier as well and is a minor blip.

Room Tip: cheapest one ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mohit668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

As I didnt stay here I wouldn't normally put in a review however we ate here on our one night in Fox Glacier. Wow I can honestly say that my cheese burger (which was in no way what I was expecting) from the bar menu, was by far the best burger Ive ever eaten, anywhere. Good value for money and I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone staying in Fox Glacier country. It was also nice that we could order and eat the bar menu in the restaurant as well and the service was excellent as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

I stopped at for 1 night in March 2013 in a twin room.

Summary
An older hotel in a small town surrounded by Glaciers and Mountains. The hotel is a little old fashioned but is clean and comfortable.

This review is based on my stay in room 100 which is on the ground floor.

The rooms amenities include: 2x single beds with duvet & bedspread, TV, fridge, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities with kettle, alarm clock, heater, air con, safe, table & chairs, wifi access ($5 per hour)

Hotel amenities include:- Restaurant, bar, cafe, laundry facilities ($3 washing machine, $2 dryer, $2 for detergent), wetroom, internet kiosk.

Located on the main road in the Fox Glacier Village near to all the local amenities (general store, souvenier shop, bars, cafe's, restaurants, fuel stop).

My room (100) was a bit old fashioned, but was clean and comfortable and overlooked a garden area. Car parking was available nearby.

Breakfast was included in the room rate and is the standard fare, bacon, sausages, hash browns, tomatoes, beans, mushrooms, selection of breads/toast, cereals, pastries, tea, coffee and fruit juice served in a buffet style.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TortMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbrook, Maine
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Unlike other reviewers, I really liked this little hotel. It felt a bit like an amalgamation of buildings all put together, but it's been updated more recently than other hotels in NZ that I had been to. I did not see a lift, and the staff was friendly and helpful as they took my bags up to my room for me. The room was nice and clean, and a shared balcony with a beautiful view. The best part was I wasn't up half the night with noises coming from other rooms.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room off the balcony facing the road out to Lake Mathison.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

Didn't stay in this hotel, but ate there one evening and found the food to be excellent. We had venison ribs to start which were enormous and plentiful, so much so that I struggled to finish my main course - fish and chips were freshly battered, white and boneless. Service was a bit slow, but worth the wait in the end!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford uk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

stopped for the night very drab small room's not to helpfull breakfast good,not much to say wont be going back even for the views which were great over the mountains and glaciers.not much to say bathroom bigger than bedroom

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iancrump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fox Glacier hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.1 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
1.0 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
10.0 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier

Property: Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Address: 11 Cook Flat Road | P O Box 2, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing