We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The receptionist seemed to have trouble understanding our English accents and had no knowledge of trips to the Fox Glacier. The room was tiny with a wardrobe about 9" wide and three coat hangers. The bathroom was larger but unheated, with a vented window which could not be closed. Consequently there was nowhere to dry clothes after our walk to the Fox Glacier. The reception rooms were cold.

The breakfast staff were very pleasant.

This hotel could learn a lot from its sister hotels in Queenstown and Christchurch.

Room Tip: Try and find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    44
    61
    31
    29
See reviews for
40
88
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

After staying in a quality hotel in Queenstown, we were extremely disappointed when we arrived at Heartland Hotel in Fox Glacier. You walk in and it smells like a nursing home and the room was pokey. We didn't sleep well at night as you can hear EVERYTHING including people at 4am talking on the shared balcony. You are then awoken at 7am by a hideous jazz bass line that vibrates through from reception. We even stripped the bed back to make sure there were no spiders in It. The bathroom was ok, shower head really low and not adjustable. No one comes to restock your toilet paper. We went to have a meal at the adjoining hotel and they didn't have a chef on..... We had to stay for 4 nights, we wanted to cancel and go back to Queenstown but couldn't.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fox Glacier hotels

Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

My wife and 1 are from from Brisbane, Australia and we were on a 12 day Independent Coach Tour touring both the North and South Islands. We arrived at the Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier from Queenstown and we loved the old fashioned white painted timber look of the place. Inside, the hotel has a lovely old fashioned retro feel about it with all the facilities needed for a great stay. A feature was the door leading to the long front verandah where we enjoyed a glass of wine together at the table and chairs there. The shower in the bathroom was nice and hot – perfect after viewing the Glacier in the rain. Our evening meal was quite lovely – I enjoyed an especially well cooked venison casserole with mashed potatoes and steam vegetables on the side. It was a shame we only had one night here as we could easily have enjoyed a couple more. Maybe another time. A nice gesture was the hotel management inviting us to take home the New Zealand made bath and body products on offer in the bathroom and providing a commemorative eco bag to take them home in . So what advice can we offer to travellers? Don't be put off by the old fashioned look of the hotel from the outside. There is a lot to like about this excellent hotel inside with its friendly staff and more than adequate facilities.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OrderintheHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Stayed here for two nights when visiting Fox Glacier. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the room itself was great. Plenty of space, big bathroom and it was warm when I walked in (despite being cold and wet outside). Had breakfast there both days and on the second got a free upgrade from the continental to the full cooked breakfast which was nice. Only worked out about 50% more expensive than staying at a youth hostel and was easily two or three times better quality.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t123s456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uae
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed here for a night soon after the tiring trip to Fox Glacier. Was a little disappointed since the room was too small. We were a couple with a 10 year old child and we found the room very small although the bathroom was very big. It's ok to spend one night at this place. We did not get the room with the breakfast, since we left the next day early in the morning, and we just bought sometimes and sandwiches from the petrol pump nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank montvert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tutbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed here for two nights in Fox Glacier. The reception staff (all 4 we met) where welcoming and helpful - especially helping us with concerns over the intercity and road closures. The rooms was a good size and very comfortable. Recommended for anyone looking to stay at Fox Glacier.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Stayed a night here, a warm comfortable room. Helpful staff and a good breakfast in the morning
Has the pub downstairs with a nice open fire and a relaxed environment.
An older building but looked after.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry255371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.1 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
357 reviews
9.9 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
10.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel
The Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
1,937 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier

Property: Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Address: 11 Cook Flat Road | P O Box 2, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing