We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beauty at its best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beauty at its best!”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This place in Fox Glacier which is such a small town of very few places and shops, is a great place. The hotel is very simple and small. Has a great pub in the hotel. The rooms are very sober and old school and you might have to pick your luggage to the room and no lifts ....so steps...

The break fast here is very basic. The views are very good from the room...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samragyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    43
    61
    30
    29
See reviews for
40
87
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Welcoming was perfect, a lovely clean room with outstanding views. Delightful breakfast and evening meal. There was so many choices on the menu, I felt spoilt. Staff so helpful and always a smile and thank you. Recommend it

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel in Jan/14, and the standard was appalling!!The security was very bad, no locks on the windows and the door had no sufficient secure lock,especially being on the ground floor.The room was tatty and very tired, not at all welcoming.The shower had a huge hole in the wall,which was dangerous, and no safety in the shower area. Wi-fi did not work.So sad, was such a lovely town, to be let down by a terrible,pricey hotel. Backpackers seem to be cleaner and brighter..........
very disappointing

Room Tip: just don't go!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penny r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fox Glacier hotels

Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The guy in the reception was very kind to replace our room , however the place looks so sad and when we chose to spend time in the lobby the reception came to turn off the lights around 11pm.
Way two expansive for such a basic place.
Although , the room was very clean.
I feel I want to get more for such a price.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

The room was clean and of a reasonable size. The bathroom was nice. There is just one hour a day free WiFi (per room) although it's just $5 to make that 24hrs.

It was one of the more expensive hotels we stayed at in New Zealand and didn't feel worth that extra money. There was also a 3% credit card surcharge sprung on me when paying - I booked through a third-party website and it wasn't mentioned anywhere except on the counter on a small paper sign. When you travel from overseas, you have v little option but to pay it.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahsOffAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed in bedroom 119 and the standard was appalling. It was dirty, tired, the net curtains and the chair fabric were torn, the walls had been bashed, the carpet was filthy and had not been hoovered to the edges, the wardrobe did not open, the shower had a stainless steel base, the bedroom walls were paper-thin as were the curtains which let in light from the adjacent carpark. The only saving grace was the bar which had a great atmosphere and a welcome Happy Hour. Dinner in the restaurant was fine and the breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Based on our experience of room 119, check the bedroom out before you commit to sleeping in it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkYorkshirelass99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Wifi does not work. Wash basin have separate hot/cold water faucets?! Office closes at 8 PM.
Not enough parking. No elevator. Peeling paint. You pay too much for all this. The room you get may be different from what you booked!

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, ground floor may be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apv2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.1 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
1.0 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
10.0 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier

Property: Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Address: 11 Cook Flat Road | P O Box 2, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing