We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for 1-night stopover, more like a Motel than a Hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 410 helpful votes
“OK for 1-night stopover, more like a Motel than a Hotel...”
Reviewed 14 May 2009

I stayed 1 night in this hotel in March 2009 as part of a package tour of New Zealand and Australia, so cannot comment on the room cost but can make observations on the facilities etc and compare it to all the other 'same-standard' 3* or so hotels I stayed in.

The hotel is located on the main street in this small/quiet town. There is a limited choice of accommodation in the area and you should not expect too much as there are really used as quick stopovers rather than for long-term stays - I think it would be best to refer to this establishment as a motel rather than a hotel...

Overall the 'hotel' was OK, but as already hinted was missing quite a few of the expected room facilities. Although clean and presentable, the rooms are a bit tatty, quite small and close to neighbouring residential houses, meaning the surroundings are quite noisy and everyone can see into your room. My experience was worsened by being located directly above the heating/hot water boiler room which made my room similar to a small, noisy sauna ! The local emergency services appeared to be quite busy since the 'muster' siren sounded several times to make the noise intrusion even worse.

The bathroom wasn't, with just a shower cubicle and small basin area. There was no aircon (which would have been useful to counter the rising hot air from downstairs if nothing else !) nor safe-deposit box.

Rooms are external, adjacent to the vehicle parking, on 2 floors so the absence of a lift is not too disastrous.

The breakfast buffet was fine, with quite a wide choice of quality foodstuffs, but there was no eggs 'cook-to-order' section - something I like a lot. Along with the hotel, there are a few bars/restaurants within a minutes walk, but the large through-traffic of overnight residents makes it quite a competition to get dinner....

This was not somewhere I would have liked to have stayed for a long period, but for a 1-night stopover enroute from Christchurch to Queenstown it was OK.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LPWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    44
    61
    31
    29
See reviews for
40
88
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2009

Stayed for one night, room was refurbished but tiny. bathroom was nicely done but again small. The walls were very thin could hear our neighbours chatting away. Goodish value at $110 per night but you probably should try one of the motels on Cook flat road for a better nights sleep

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c~~k~~Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2008

Having read the reports on this hotel it was with some apprehension that I arrived at Fox Glacier with Kirra Tours on 12th March 2008.I was given a recently renovated room in the main building. The room was clean, comfortable and had an adjoining sitting room and excellent bathroom with spa. While it had a new flat screen TV It lacked a telephone! Also two old pipes stuck out of the wall where the radiator had been replaced! But a good standard of accommodation.The rest of my party were accommodated in the 2 annexes. Those in renovated rooms were satisfied ; others in the old rooms were not.
Breakfast and dinner were good in my view- better than the 4star hotel we had stayed in earlier on the tour.The hotel is undergoing refurbishment and I feel the present management is trying to address the criticisms of previous guests.

  • Liked — Comfortable room and lovely bathroom
  • Disliked — Pipes sticking out of wall where radiator had been replaced
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank judical2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2008

We stayed here for one night as part of a tour group. We were accommodated in an adjoining block, affectionately termed "Stalag13" by our guide. Walls are thin but if you have climbed the glacier and had a few beers, all you might create and hear are snores!!
There is a fairly lively bar in the Hotel and a couple of other restaurants/bars in the village.
The room was basic and clean and considering all, we would return there.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brightlingsea
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2007

We also did the tour with Kirra and when we got to this hotel we could not believe what we saw, the part that Kirra stay in is what they call the annex it looked more like army barracks from the outside and inside was worse cracked sinks dirty showers and the walls were so thin you could hear everthing from the next room the view of an oil tank and rubbish left a lot to be desired.
We had paid with Kirra for this but decided that it was so bad that we could not stay there so got a room in another hotel at our expense you have been warned

  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Katejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fox Glacier hotels

Milton Keynes UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2007

We travelled with Kirra tours so we didn't book the hotel ourselves, it was just one booked for us as part of the tour.
It was easily the worst one we stayed in during our whole time in NZ which was 24 days, we had two rooms, one for us, one for our teenage daughters, our had a leaky pipe in the bathroom which dripped whenever you used the loo and the room smelt damp. Our daughters room had a cracked sink, previously mentioned in another review i see, so it must have been like it for ages, or they had a selection of cracked sinks. I would not stay here again.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank WelovedNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2006

The "hotel" has got a few different buildings, and it was quite hard to locate the reception. The room we had was small and cold (heater not working 100%). There were stains on my duvet and the tv didn't even work. The toilet was dirty and the water from the tab was yellowish.

The only good things about this place are
1. the cleaners were nice and helpful, they gave us extra towels
2. right next to the fox glacier tour shop
3. price

Not really a great place to stay at all but if you aren't willing to pay much for accommodation you could consider this hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dirty water and toilet
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janda0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.1 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
359 reviews
19.0 mi away
Hermitage Hotel
Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
1,953 reviews
10.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
1.0 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier

Property: Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Address: 11 Cook Flat Road | P O Box 2, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing