We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Milldew is not cool!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Milldew is not cool!”
Reviewed 7 September 2010

I think this it the Fox Glacier Inn / Hotel? I assume it is the same place by some of the other peoples comments. Seriously - mildew STANK from the bathroom. The beds were super duper soft and just made you feel sore by the morning.

I'm not a whingy whingy person - I have a high tollerance of bad places, but this one was the worst I stayed at in NZ and prolly the worst I have stayed at in a couple of years. Do yourself a favour - just avoid it, there's other places to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ByronofMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    44
    61
    31
    29
See reviews for
40
88
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bunbury , Western Australia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2010

After being unable to find a bed at Franz Josef, we used Wotif and chose this hotel as it looked chaming. At AUD $160 we had high expectations. We were put out in the Annexe , a truly depressing building reminiscent of an old-fashioned hospital wing. Our room looked out onto a spare lot littered with old machinery and rubbish.
The rooms are quite large , but dingy and the bathroom was a black hole with fittings from the 1950's. We were woken by the couple in the next room at 5 am who decided to have a deep and meaningful, every word of which we could hear!
A truly disappointing experience.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fox Glacier hotels

Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2010

We took a 19 day tour of NZ. All the hotels were fine - or even excellent - with this exception.
This is pretty bad. I can't compare it to other hotels in the area but if they don't get better ratings than this I'd avoid Fox Glacier altogether!
The rooms were not all that clean, the shower is merely a curtain blocking off a portion of the bathroom, they delivered all the wrong bags to the wrong rooms (the only hotel to do so). The evening meal - a buffet - was truly awful. We were charged $35 each (later we found out out the posted price was $30).
When I read the other reviews I nearly didn't bother because they mostly describe it as a dump but, heck, you WANT to take revenge on a place like this. In case you think I'm picky, this is the first really negative review I've ever given an hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viking1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2010

Quiet and enjoyable stay

Great atmosphere, service and facilities

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teh_Jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2010

This is an old hotel situated in a small township with basic/few facilities.

I stayed two nights and was given a room on first floor with a shared balcony. The room had recently been refurbished to a good standard but was quite small. I suspect the room was mostly used for accomodating single travellors like myself but had a double bed. I believe couples would find the room too small. Apart from the bed and a cupboard for the tea/coffee facilities the room had no other furniture. The bathroom was a generous size. As I suspect most travellors are only staying one or two nights the room was adequate.

I ate dinner in the hotels "Goat" Cafe/bar and was good quality.

When I was there the glacier footways had been washed away by heavy rain. Not an uncommon event if you wanted to visit the face of the glacier book a guided trip in the village.

Note the Lake Matheson walk is mainly through woodland up and down the adjoining hillsides. Worth it for the views but not for the infirm.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GravyMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 402 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2009

I stayed 1 night in this hotel in March 2009 as part of a package tour of New Zealand and Australia, so cannot comment on the room cost but can make observations on the facilities etc and compare it to all the other 'same-standard' 3* or so hotels I stayed in.

The hotel is located on the main street in this small/quiet town. There is a limited choice of accommodation in the area and you should not expect too much as there are really used as quick stopovers rather than for long-term stays - I think it would be best to refer to this establishment as a motel rather than a hotel...

Overall the 'hotel' was OK, but as already hinted was missing quite a few of the expected room facilities. Although clean and presentable, the rooms are a bit tatty, quite small and close to neighbouring residential houses, meaning the surroundings are quite noisy and everyone can see into your room. My experience was worsened by being located directly above the heating/hot water boiler room which made my room similar to a small, noisy sauna ! The local emergency services appeared to be quite busy since the 'muster' siren sounded several times to make the noise intrusion even worse.

The bathroom wasn't, with just a shower cubicle and small basin area. There was no aircon (which would have been useful to counter the rising hot air from downstairs if nothing else !) nor safe-deposit box.

Rooms are external, adjacent to the vehicle parking, on 2 floors so the absence of a lift is not too disastrous.

The breakfast buffet was fine, with quite a wide choice of quality foodstuffs, but there was no eggs 'cook-to-order' section - something I like a lot. Along with the hotel, there are a few bars/restaurants within a minutes walk, but the large through-traffic of overnight residents makes it quite a competition to get dinner....

This was not somewhere I would have liked to have stayed for a long period, but for a 1-night stopover enroute from Christchurch to Queenstown it was OK.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LPWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2009

Stayed for one night, room was refurbished but tiny. bathroom was nicely done but again small. The walls were very thin could hear our neighbours chatting away. Goodish value at $110 per night but you probably should try one of the motels on Cook flat road for a better nights sleep

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c~~k~~Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.1 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
358 reviews
9.9 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
10.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Hermitage Hotel
Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
1,938 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
400 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier

Property: Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier
Address: 11 Cook Flat Road | P O Box 2, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Heartland Hotel Fox Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing