We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Spacious Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mount Cook View Motel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant Spacious Motel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed here for one night. The room was spacious and furnished reasonably well. Location was great as it was just outside the Fox Glacier township, on the road leading to Lake Matheson. The owners were friendly and helpful and we had no complaints.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adamski47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    91
    27
    8
    5
See reviews for
57
87
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Marske-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Turned up late on an afternoon with a family of 7 they gave us 2 units at a reasonable price for 2 nights. The owners were very friendly and very helpful, the units were in very good order and well presented. A pleasant and enjoyable stay. If you are in Fox give it a try its 5 mins drive from the village.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVE866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

We arrived here last minute as a family of 4 adults, 2 children and a baby. The owner was lovely and showed us 2 units to suit our needs. The larger unit had a separate bedroom for the children, which was lovely. The units were clean and spacious and the location, though a little way out f e centre of Fox was peaceful and relaxing.
The beds were comfortable and the smaller of the 2 units that we stayed in had a spa bath, which was lovely.
The owner was also very helpful with knowledge about the local area and helped us to book trips to the glacier and gave recommendations about the local places to eat.
Overall a lovely stay, I would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne52012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

If you compare the other hotel in the same price range they are better. We wanted 3 days stay and he quoted a lower price. But when we confirmed for 3 days he comes back and says he has availability only for two days so we booked two days here and 1 days in top 10 motel. But when we checked out we came to know that the special price is not applicable for two days then why he didn't mention that at the time of booking. Further we ran out of hot water he says he can't help it there is quota of hot water per room ! Any request didn't help. Plus he needs the kitchen to be cleaned when checked out its a motel not B and B ! He likes to make money and save costs, if you have some spare cash pls drop by to his motel and give it to him.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights. The motel is nice & tidy. There is no luxury but all the basic needs are available. It is bit of the centre of Fox but so near to Lake Matheson where you can have a nice breakfast and a walk in the lake. Also I would like to thank the kind guy in the reception, he was helpful & kind.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sydney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa, Kentucky
Level Contributor
195 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

Our group stayed at this very clean and quiet motel. We enjoyed a beautiful sunset and beautiful views of Mt. Cook. I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again. It's close to the park where we hiked around Lake Matheson and we all got beautiful shots of sunrise and the reflections of Mt. Cook in the lake.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmnteddyLakeCity_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

This motel purports to be superior. It is very average compared with our experiences elsewhere in South Island. The size and cleanliness were fine .The negatives were a lumpy uneven matttress with poor quality 'bobbly' poly cotton bedlinen. The pillows smelt.
The location is a 15 minute walk from the 'centre' but is nearer to Lake Mattheson where there us an excellent restaurant/cafe.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EastKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fox Glacier hotels
1.3 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.3 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.7 mi away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#5 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
1.1 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Cook View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Cook View Motel

Property: Mount Cook View Motel
Address: 203 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Cook View Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mount Cook View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Cook View Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing