We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check this out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mount Cook View Motel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed for one night prior to a visit to Fox Glacier and Lake Matheson. We had a large unit with good views, very clean and tidy, and the proprietors were both friendly and helpful. Easy parking right outside unit. The motel is a couple of minutes drive out of Fox itself, towards Lake Matheson, but nice and peaceful. Certainly worth a try if you are staying in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bagabargain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
There are newer reviews for Mount Cook View Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and was happy with our choice.

Service - Friendly welcome at the reception by Stephanie and proceeded to explain the local attractions plus directions. Very helpful and easy to deal with.

Value - Reasonable and standard price but we did get 2 double bed and 1 single bed for 115 a night. Can't complain but only 2 of us here :)

Sleep quality - Got 2 great night of sleep in a warm bed and comfortable pillows.

Cleanliness - Everything was tidy and clean. Very impressed with their cleanliness.

Locations - Slightly out of town centre but got a great view out of our room plus close to Lake Matheson. Besides, everything is close in Fox Glacier so nothing wrong with the location.

Rooms - See above.

Overall - A nice place to stay and would definitely recommend it to others if they plan to come to Fox Glacier.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJJC_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in February and thought the motel was excellent. The staff were really polite and helpful, our room was lovely and big with a small kitchen for us to prepare our own food. The motel is about a 2 min drive from the main shops and restaurants which made it really peaceful and quiet with some spectacular views. Would definitely recommend staying here if you are visiting Fox glacier.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessh1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Stayed here for two nights, enjoyed trips to Fox Glacier, Franz Josef Glacier, Lake Matheson. Comfortable, clean, rooms. Friendly, helpful staff. Views from room amazing. Would definitely recommend, we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katharine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

It was quiet chilly and extremely pleasant. There is hardly any noise and the food was great! The staff were very friendly and kind. We had a great time and really enjoyed staying there. The view was fantastic and to die for! When we were there, in November, it was spring so one day when i was enjoying a peaceful stroll, it started snowing! My family were so excited since it was our first time seeing snow fall!

Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Anjali2580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed here for one night. The room was spacious and furnished reasonably well. Location was great as it was just outside the Fox Glacier township, on the road leading to Lake Matheson. The owners were friendly and helpful and we had no complaints.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adamski47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Turned up late on an afternoon with a family of 7 they gave us 2 units at a reasonable price for 2 nights. The owners were very friendly and very helpful, the units were in very good order and well presented. A pleasant and enjoyable stay. If you are in Fox give it a try its 5 mins drive from the village.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAVE866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
1.3 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
361 reviews
10.9 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,388 reviews
11.0 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
405 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
382 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#6 of 10 in Fox Glacier
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Cook View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Cook View Motel

Address: 203 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range: £66 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Cook View Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mount Cook View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Cook View Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing