We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and does the job.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mount Cook View Motel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good location and does the job.”
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

We had a nice large room which was clean and well equiped. We really enjoyed sitting outside to eat our breakfast whilst looking at the stunning view. The motel is very close to Matheson Lake (where there is a great cafe).

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenlanegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    91
    27
    8
    5
See reviews for
57
87
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

While there is nothing wrong with the motel and the room, the name is misleading as there is no view of any mountain from most of the rooms. It is also not the most conveniently located been approx 2km from the main street (restaurants / pubs / shops) and >2km to the lake. So you can't walk anywhere. BTW you may want to stay in Franz Josef Glacier instead of fox glacier.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheers_A_Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in Mount Cook View Motel from 6-7Dec2013. The room is very clean and complete with cooking facilities. However, we had one bad experience, the shower water heater in one of our room is not working. So, pls check it during your check in.

Room Tip: Make sure you check out on time which is 10am. Else you need to pay extra NZD40 for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ooikb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
204 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

The hotel is located not too far to Lake Matheson.
The rooms are old and a bad smell was coming from the fridge.
The place is calm with view on the fields.
Staff is alright, helicopter can be book for cheapest price in city center.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Airwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isles of scilly
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

my wife and I pre booked this motel from the tourist information at Christchurch for 2 nights, and we were not disappointed. A beautifull location 10 mins walk to town, very clean comfortable and well kitted out, with a very friendly family as hosts. If quiet and beauty is what you want, stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank porthcressa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Large, clean rooms close to town and a very friendly family provided us with a perfect stay for two nights. The views are lovely, the pony is very friendly and we found it very good value for money.
A cut above any motel that I have previously stayed at and friendlier even than some upmarket B&B's

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Admiral_Rodney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed two nights at the Mt. Cook View Motel in a studio unit with spa. There were two beds (1 queen and 1 twin), and the spa was a regular jetted tub. Parking was right outside the door. The motel was quiet and the room was clean.
However, there were some downsides and I would probably not stay here again. The room was outdated with an old mattress and only two pillows on the big bed. The wifi was free, but did not work on our iOS devices (though other devices did work).
It was a big room with a lot of space for the kitchenette. The bathroom was also large. We had plenty of electrical outlets for charging our various batteries.
Fox Glacier is a small town with a few restaurants in the center, and the Mt. Cook View Motel is more than 2 km from the center of town. It's a long flat road, so not a hard walk, but if you don't have a car, it will be inconvenient as there is literally nothing around the Mt. Cook View except a couple of other motels. It is a very rural area. However, the motel does have a nice view of the mountain, which is not visible from the center of town.
We did enjoy our visit to Fox Glacier, with a guided glacier hike and a trip to Franz Josef for the hot pools. Franz was more than 30 minutes' drive (longer if you're a careful driver on the twisty roads).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mollysnapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fox Glacier hotels
1.3 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
349 reviews
0.3 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
171 reviews
0.7 mi away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#4 of 10 in Fox Glacier
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
1.1 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
372 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Cook View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Cook View Motel

Property: Mount Cook View Motel
Address: 203 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Cook View Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mount Cook View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Cook View Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing