We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mount Cook View Motel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

The lady at the reception was nice and warm hearted. The room was definitely up to standards and especially for the price. As the name promises you get a great view of Mt. Cook when you wake up in the morning! Great place to stay in!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank matzekern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

It's average standard you would expect from a Motel, it's a bit further from the town center, but you do get good views out here during a clear sky. The owner is warm and welcoming, and the little cute dog :)

We arrived in a very cold afternoon, the room has been supplied with a very budget mid sized heater, since I was a electrical sales, I know with the size of the room, we definitely need a larger heater to keep the room warm. But anyway, Mt Cook is cold area. Except for this, I had a peaceful time here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryba9vg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed just one night in late January 2014. Loved the large, spacious one-bedroom unit for the 5 of us. We found the owners to be very friendly & accomodating of any requests we had.

Lovely views of the mountains in the quiet, peaceful, rural setting.

You ideally need a car to get there, as the motel is a couple of Kms out of the township - which offers a host of cafes & resturants. Would be very happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

This motel purports to be superior. It is very average compared with our experiences elsewhere in South Island and a second night at another motel in the same town. The room smelled strangely and although it was clean we didn't feel well. The owners are friendly but this place needs an update.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank loopdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights on our trip up the west coast. The area is lovely. We were in Room 2, not sure how good the Mt Cook View was from other rooms. We could see the meadow and mountains clearly when they were visible and sit outside comfortably and it was private. The place was near Lake Matheson and was clean and well equipped and the staff helpful and friendly. We enjoyed our stay there.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mands09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

We had a nice large room which was clean and well equiped. We really enjoyed sitting outside to eat our breakfast whilst looking at the stunning view. The motel is very close to Matheson Lake (where there is a great cafe).

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greenlanegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

While there is nothing wrong with the motel and the room, the name is misleading as there is no view of any mountain from most of the rooms. It is also not the most conveniently located been approx 2km from the main street (restaurants / pubs / shops) and >2km to the lake. So you can't walk anywhere. BTW you may want to stay in Franz Josef Glacier instead of fox glacier.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheers_A_Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
1.4 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#4 of 11 in Fox Glacier
375 reviews
1.3 mi away
Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
Heartland Hotel Glacier Country
#10 of 11 in Fox Glacier
22 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,477 reviews
0.3 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#9 of 11 in Fox Glacier
180 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 11 in Fox Glacier
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Cook View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Cook View Motel

Address: 203 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range: £58 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Cook View Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mount Cook View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Cook View Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing