We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big rooms, big views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mount Cook View Motel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
384 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Big rooms, big views”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Nice rooms and lovely location. Beds and linens great and well off road to be very quiet. Only a short way to Lake Mathieson which has nice walks, cafe and gift shop.
Great views of mount Cook from the room, we liked this place!

Room Tip: Rooms with mt Cook view 11,12,13 I think
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    91
    27
    8
    5
See reviews for
57
87
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
napier
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

The lady at the reception was nice and warm hearted. The room was definitely up to standards and especially for the price. As the name promises you get a great view of Mt. Cook when you wake up in the morning! Great place to stay in!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank matzekern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

It's average standard you would expect from a Motel, it's a bit further from the town center, but you do get good views out here during a clear sky. The owner is warm and welcoming, and the little cute dog :)

We arrived in a very cold afternoon, the room has been supplied with a very budget mid sized heater, since I was a electrical sales, I know with the size of the room, we definitely need a larger heater to keep the room warm. But anyway, Mt Cook is cold area. Except for this, I had a peaceful time here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryba9vg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed just one night in late January 2014. Loved the large, spacious one-bedroom unit for the 5 of us. We found the owners to be very friendly & accomodating of any requests we had.

Lovely views of the mountains in the quiet, peaceful, rural setting.

You ideally need a car to get there, as the motel is a couple of Kms out of the township - which offers a host of cafes & resturants. Would be very happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

This motel purports to be superior. It is very average compared with our experiences elsewhere in South Island and a second night at another motel in the same town. The room smelled strangely and although it was clean we didn't feel well. The owners are friendly but this place needs an update.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank loopdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertford
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights on our trip up the west coast. The area is lovely. We were in Room 2, not sure how good the Mt Cook View was from other rooms. We could see the meadow and mountains clearly when they were visible and sit outside comfortably and it was private. The place was near Lake Matheson and was clean and well equipped and the staff helpful and friendly. We enjoyed our stay there.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mands09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

We had a nice large room which was clean and well equiped. We really enjoyed sitting outside to eat our breakfast whilst looking at the stunning view. The motel is very close to Matheson Lake (where there is a great cafe).

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenlanegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fox Glacier hotels
1.3 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.3 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.7 mi away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#5 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
1.1 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Cook View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Cook View Motel

Property: Mount Cook View Motel
Address: 203 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Cook View Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mount Cook View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Cook View Hotel Fox Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing