We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best of Fifteen”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Reflection Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fox Glacier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Reflection Lodge
Ranked #3 of 9 Fox Glacier B&B and Inns
Ipswich, Australia
1 review
“The Best of Fifteen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Of the fifteen homestays I recently made in as many days, on reflection, Reflection Lodge with its vibrant hostess, Raelene, must be deemed to be number 1. From the moment I arrived to the moment I somewhat reluctantly departed I was made to feel so much at home enjoying not only the comforts of her beautifully maintained home and garden with its outstanding scenery but the presence of someone who was able to make a visitor from another country feel so much at home in her New Zealand........You are indeed a true ambassador for your country, Raelene.

Room Tip: Choose a small private establishment not a commercial one
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reflectionlodge, Owner at Reflection Lodge, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
With great delight I read this review and I am so happy that I was able to make your stay enjoyable and reflectionlodge will stay in your good memory corner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    27
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
22
74
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

If your travels take you to Fox Glacier I can highly recommend Reflection Lodge, We stayed there for only one night on a wet and dreary October day, but Raelene's welcome could not have been warmer. My wife and I had an excellent room with a very warm and comfortable bed and a very nice en suite. Our friend was travelling with us and he had a single room with a private shower.
We were only staying one night but Raelene made us feel right at home in the main living room/kitchen area and gave us some great insights into what to see in the area and when it looked like we might not get across Haast Pass and would be spending an extra day in Fox Glacier she told us to call and she would see what could be done about finding us accommodation. Luckily we did get across the pass a little later than we had hoped but we made it. I was new to the term Home Stay but it really describes the service that Raelene provides, she welcomes you into her home and treats you like friends - I can highly recommend Reflection Lodge.
I would be remiss if I did not also mention that she has access to the freshest local whitebait. Our friend who was traveling with us was from Wellington and he was ecstatic about the whitebait. Overall a tremendous experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry-and-Dot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reflectionlodge, Owner at Reflection Lodge, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you for the lovely words . I also enjoyed every minute of your time with me at Reflection Lodge. so pleased you enjoyed the Whitebait and the surroundings In good West Coast weather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Raelene looked after us so well. My two 15 year old boys and I felt welcome in Raelene's home. The facilities are great and the breakfast excellent. Could not have wished for a better stay. We were lucky to be there during the whitebait season and tasted the straight out of the river. Delicious. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: All rooms seem fine with good access to bathroom facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jette57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reflectionlodge, Owner at Reflection Lodge, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Thank you for the lovely Review . I am so happy that I made your stay At Reflection lodge a enjoyable time .I also Enjoyed Your company very much .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Our host, Donna, was looking after the place in lieu of Raelene who was on fishing trip. Donna made us feel very welcome and we enjoyed staying there. Breakfast was nice: fresh eggs from the hens in the farm... yoghurt and orange juice and tea and jam/marmalade on toast.

The house is very likeable with lots of character and quirky antiques and a real fireplace... The rooms are comfortable and the gardens are so well kept and charming...

I noted the level of privacy here was not the same as other b&b's which have separate parts of the house for the host and for the guests; here Donna's room was connected to the same hallway as our guest rooms. Nonetheless our stay was superb and uninterrupted, I highly recommend this place if you are looking to stay at Fox Glacier, it is sublime.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bucket_Listy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reflectionlodge, Manager at Reflection Lodge, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
thank you for the lovely review I am so thrilled that you enjoyed your time at ReflectionLodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Our host, Raelene, made us feel very welcome in her home. She has a beautiful view of Mounts Cook and Tasman. We enjoyed staying there. Nice cooked breakfast. Not much privacy, but it was an enjoyable stay nonetheless.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finedinermelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

We stayed for two nights in March at Raelene's beautiful home and five acre property with superb views of Mounts Cook and Tasman in the background. Conveniently located a five minute car ride from the very small town of Fox Glacier or Lake Matheson. We chose the room with the ensuite which was very clean and large with comfortable bed and sitting area and great views of the wonderful gardens. Guests have access to their own communal sitting room with big screen tv and movies. Raelene serves a wonderful cooked breakfast in the dining area with a huge picture window overlooking her pond and the mountains. Hope for a break in the clouds to see the sun shining on the glaciers and snow capped mountains which reflect onto the water in her pond. Best part of Reflection Lodge is Raelene's friendliness and hospitality. Sitting with her with a glass of wine in conversation about her family and life just added to the ambience of our experience. Highly recommended.

Rick and Ann

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rickandannt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed 2 nights here. The house is beautiful and immaculately clean. Raelene offers relaxed hospitality. The window frames the mountain view perfectly. We were also instructed on the best places to eat in Fox. We got use of the wifi. The house is pretty quiet, but there is a helicopter place next door so there are copter comings/goings.
All in all I would thoroughly recommend Reflection Lodge as a wonderful place to stay in Fox.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
1.0 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.3 mi away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#4 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.2 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
1.0 mi away
Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reflection Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reflection Lodge

Property: Reflection Lodge
Address: 141 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reflection Lodge offers panoramic views of Mt Cook and Mt Tasman, New Zealand's two highest peaks reflected in a private lake. Hosting since 1992 and pride ourselves in friendly and homely hospitality in a relaxed atmosphere.Arrive as a guest and depart as friends! Families very welcome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing