We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“G & J Winter”
Review of Reflection Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fox Glacier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Reflection Lodge
Ranked #3 of 9 Fox Glacier B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“G & J Winter”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

When our party arrived we were greeted warmly by Raelene and offered coffee and homemade cookies. Our rooms were comfortable and clean. For breakfast we were offered fruit salad and yogurt, followed by egg on toast and more eggs and or toast if we wanted it. We were only there for 2 nights and didn't spend a great deal of time at Reflection Lodge but what time we did, Raelene was both friendly and knowledgable about the area. The view from her house is stunning. In the evenings we found a couple of nice places, which suited us and our budgets, to eat in. Our party enjoyed their stay at Reflection Lodge.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GandJWinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    27
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
22
74
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

We just spent two nights with Raelene at the Reflection Lodge, and it was great! Raelene greeted us warmly and immediately made us feel part of the family with a cup of tea and cookies. Our room was very comfortable with a huge private bathroom across the hall. Breakfasts were substantial with freshly laid eggs from the chickens outside. All in all, a great stay and great chats with our new Kiwi friend.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank blue74Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Raelene make you feel at home! In front of Fox glacier with a great view! You can enjoy a very charming house, with spacious and clean rooms only minutes away from heli-hikes. We loved our stay and the full family at times around was very friendly.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank 3frenchies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Nice view and sheep. Our mother tongue is not English and we found it in the treatment. The only place where we exchanged years (new year) had our own bedroom. Breakfast was poor and they service cold coffee.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Leena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reflectionlodge, Owner at Reflection Lodge, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
I am terribly disappointed to read your comments. First off, I am left confused on your remark regarding the sheep. I feel you may have this place confused with another, as if you refer to other guest’s photos that show the view, you can plainly see there are no sheep.

I have been welcoming guests from all around the world since 1993 and I pride myself in making people feel welcome, regardless of their mother tongue.

I’m sorry to read you found your breakfast was poor. If you had any special requests, you could have asked and I would have been happy to accommodate. I have never received negative feedback on breakfast. I make fresh tea and coffee as soon as guests sit down for breakfast.

In light of all of the above, I hope the rest of your holiday went well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mougins
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Accommodation here is very well appointed with a wonderful view of Mt.Tasman ,a very pretty, well- looked after garden too.However the real star of the show is your wonderful hostess,Raelene who is so welcoming and made us very comfortable in her lovely home. Yes ,as previous reviewers have said -the poached eggs from her own hens at breakfast are to die for !! She is super friendly and loves a chat ,very many witty stories to tell ,a sweet-heart !

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabalotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reflectionlodge, Owner at Reflection Lodge, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
thank you very much for the lovely review
It is heart warming to me that you appreciate The Gardens Views and My Company
safe return and Hope to see you again in the Future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

If I could rate this Lodge 10 out of 5 I would. Welcome from the first to the last minute. A lovely clean, spacious bedroom with bathroom, with a beautiful view on the well kept garden. From the blanket to lie on the grass to the home-made cookies, every detail fits. The living room breathes warmth and is well decorated. Raelene is a perfect host with lots of information and good advice on where to go or eat. Lovely relaxed breakfast. She makes you feel like you're at home and really went out of her way to help us make the most of our stay. The view is simply stunning. Mt Cook and Mt Tasman where lit up in the evening light and reflected in the beautiful pond in front of the garden. A place that has given us lasting memories of our trip to New Zealand

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattheusAlto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reflectionlodge, Owner at Reflection Lodge, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
With great delight I read this review I am so happy that you felt Welcome at Reflection Lodge
I had No trouble making you feel welcome It was Like you were long lost friends
So pleased that you got really good Photos, also the great west coast Weather .
Safe return home to your loved ones And looking forward to Meeting all your friends
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Being treated like one of the family made our stay at Reflection Lodge especially memorable. There were cups of tea, cookies, and other treats at odd hours, and expertly cooked poached eggs for breakfast. Raelene's pond with its perfect reflection of the mountains and convenient photo opportunities made a trip to Lake Matheson unnecessary to capture the reflection photo so popular in local postcards. The rest of the garden is just as lovely, beautifully designed and maintained. Our bedroom and bathroom were very comfortable and clean, and we enjoyed being able to catch the TV news and weather forecast on the leather sofa in the lounge. Sometimes "Bestie" jumped on the sofa to keep us company and have her tummy stroked; she is the most relaxed Jack Russell terrier I have ever seen. We also appreciated Raelene's extensive local knowledge and, of course, her delightful sense of humour and friendly welcome. I can't think of any other B & B stays that have ended with hugs all around and fervent promises to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wynyfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
1.0 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
359 reviews
10.8 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Misty Peaks
Misty Peaks
#5 of 10 in Fox Glacier
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
380 reviews
1.0 mi away
Distinction Fox Glacier, Te Weheka Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reflection Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reflection Lodge

Property: Reflection Lodge
Address: 141 Cook Flat Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reflection Lodge offers panoramic views of Mt Cook and Mt Tasman, New Zealand's two highest peaks reflected in a private lake. Hosting since 1992 and pride ourselves in friendly and homely hospitality in a relaxed atmosphere.Arrive as a guest and depart as friends! Families very welcome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing