We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The White Fox Bed and Breakfast
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Fox Glacier
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
The Westhaven(Fox Glacier)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainforest Motel(Fox Glacier)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Matheson Motel(Fox Glacier)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Motel(Fox Glacier)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Misty Peaks(Fox Glacier)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
High Peaks Hotel(Fox Glacier)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
24
6
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
6
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2013

With this B&B you are immediately part of the family. Jane, who works for Fox Glacier Guides, Gary who is with the Dept. of Conservation (also volunteer fireman, etc.) Meghan (aged 9 ) & Isla (aged 7).
The girls are keen to be involved with you, and will be delighted to show you school awards and tell you about their pony.
There are also two border collies and one cat.
There is a relaxed, happy atmosphere about the house.

Both Jane & Gary can advise you not only what to do and where to go, but at what time you are likelyto get the best results.
When we booked in August.2012 we mentioned to Jane that we were thinking of booking a half-day walk with guides on the Franz Josef glacier. She told us that due to a rock and glacier fall walks were cancelled on JF. We then had Jane book us on the Fox Glacier walk.

Great location. First house as you enter Fox from the north. Easy walking distance from shops and restaurants.

Large bedroom with plenty of hanging space. Big family lounge and veranda.

Room Tip: There is only the one guest room
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdinburghTartanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

This was a really good choice of B&B. Easy to spot with its white fox logo and centrally placed for good walking distance evening eateries. Jane and Gary with daughters Meghan (silent h) and Isla (silent s) make a great family to be with. Jane works in tourism and has all the necessary local information you can possibly need. Gary works for the Department of Conservation and also has much interesting information about conservation policy. Needless to say the facilities were immaculate and breakfast with the family a delight. I would thoroughly recommend this very welcoming household.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Douglas710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

In this welcoming bed and breakfast, visitors become part of the family. Before we even arrived, Jane emailed us a wonderful itinerary of places to see along our planned route and places to see around Fox Glacier during our stay.
Our room shared the same hallway as the family's. It was beautifully decorated with a lovely ensuite bathroom. The two girls are charming and we enjoyed seeing their school projects. The hosts, Jane and Gary, immediately made us feel welcome and at home. When we returned after dinner, we were offered tea and yummy desserts. After the girls went to bed, we enjoyed a lively conversation with Jane and Gary. We learned so much about New Zealand from them since both of their jobs give them great perspectives about their country. But we did have them stumped on why New Zealand was named New Zealnd! Gary finally did find the answer on the internet.
Breafast was delicious and more than we could eat. Then they sent us on our way with a yummy snack.

Room Tip: There is only one room.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YonderMountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

What an opportunity to be able to spend the night in the home of a New Zealand DOC Ranger! Centrally located, our hosts are a short walk to Fox Glacier's town. Many restaurants and cafes from which to choose line the charming high street.. Our large and immaculate bedroom was beautifully presented and very comfortable . This included an en suite. We were welcomed home one evening with an offer to share a tasty chocolate cake and cup of tea while we sat in the lounge with the family.

Our energetic, enthusiastic host was very knowledgeable on the area and offered great tips and information regarding the glaciers and other sites of interest, and especially when to visit these areas regarding weather changes. \We were very happy we took his advice. Breakfast was delicious with yogurts, fresh cereal choices, juices, very good coffee, homemade breads and the offer of a cooked breakfast. It was difficult to push ourselves away from the breakfast conversations and continue on our way. Don't miss Fox Glacier, smaller, less touristy and the glacier has a better walking approach. A great family destination. Thanks Gary, Isla, Jane and Meaghan, Susan & Paul Wagenhofer

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silverfox227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Stayed for a couple of nights while over for the RWC2011, As said in previous reviews Jane & Gary are great and Jane had already sorted and booked our trip up to Fox Glacier when we arrived. Very well behaved pets (2 dogs and 1 cat). We even helped out with rugby related homework that the girls had. Oh and the carrot cake is fab.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smudgecat75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews