We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2012

The cheapest rooms aren't all that cheap and they are very small, but it was sufficient. The room was clean. There are a lot of "rules" posted in the room, and it felt a lot like we were being lectured to every time we turned around.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rockymtnhikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

315 - 321 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2012

Well appointed and perfectly clean. Good value but noisy in the mornings as people leave for their walks. Great location for a morning walk on the glacier but I'd only stay here for that purpose.

Room Tip: They all seemed much of a muchness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJB0703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed one night at this hotel. It was clean and comfortable. It's fairly modern with everything you needed including a little kitchenette and very clean bathroom. It was a bit pricey but it is right in the middle of the village and the glacier is popular. Staff were friendly and helpful. A bit noisey in the morning with everyone moving around but would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lu_rvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Motel is very new and clean and right in the centre of Fox Glacier. Slightly pricey for a motel. Rooms do have thin walls so you may get disturbed if you are a light sleeper.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracie0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed two nights during our Fox Glacier experience. Very friendly/helpful hosts! The hotel offers WiFi, with the first 100 mb for free! Comfortable rooms (though somewhat small). It was lovely to have, in our room, a "hot pot" to heat water, a selection of teas and coffee, and a refrigerator with milk for the tea/coffee :) We highly recommend this facility and would stay at Bella Vista/Fox Glacier again.
Wayne & Carol
Peoria, IL U.S.A

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne_Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bvfox, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Hi Wayne & Carol
Thanks for your review. It was a pleasure to have you staying here and hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in New Zealand. Look foward to hosting you again if you're ever in Fox Glacier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My second experience with Bella Vista after a great night stay in the Hokitika one. We checked in and there was a strong strange smell and we informed the owner. She gave us another room and again had the same smell. When we asked for the first room back (cos it has an extra window and we thought that might help to flush out the smell better) the male host was annoyed and told us that the room was sold. It shocked us when they told us they can give us a refund so that we can get somewhere else ! at last minute ?

We reasoned out that it was just seconds ago and it was not possible it has been sold, they finally relented. It kind of spoiled our mood a little but we decided that we should focused on the fun bit and enjoyed ourselves in fox glacier instead.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovecoffee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed 2 nights in February - was given good advice on places to eat & walk. Room comfortable & well-equipped - but fairly expensive (I suspect this is par for course in Fox). Were disturbed at 11pm one night by the local avian hoodlums (Kea) - but just luck of the draw I guess.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluemarvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.2 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
364 reviews
10.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,215 reviews
10.0 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#2 of 10 in Fox Glacier
384 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#6 of 10 in Fox Glacier
333 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fox Glacier TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier

Address: 55 Main Road | Main Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Price Range: £80 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newest accommodation complex in Fox Glacier. Superior accommodation in the heart of the Village. Stroll to restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing