We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

We thought the room was a nice size and facilities about right for the price. the kitchenette had everything needed. Very central . Would give it 5 but thought it a bit expensive and so not best value for money

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank fumblefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    153
    47
    10
    9
See reviews for
44
235
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

The cheapest rooms aren't all that cheap and they are very small, but it was sufficient. The room was clean. There are a lot of "rules" posted in the room, and it felt a lot like we were being lectured to every time we turned around.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockymtnhikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Well appointed and perfectly clean. Good value but noisy in the mornings as people leave for their walks. Great location for a morning walk on the glacier but I'd only stay here for that purpose.

Room Tip: They all seemed much of a muchness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJB0703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed one night at this hotel. It was clean and comfortable. It's fairly modern with everything you needed including a little kitchenette and very clean bathroom. It was a bit pricey but it is right in the middle of the village and the glacier is popular. Staff were friendly and helpful. A bit noisey in the morning with everyone moving around but would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lu_rvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vientiane, Laos
Level Contributor
108 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Motel is very new and clean and right in the centre of Fox Glacier. Slightly pricey for a motel. Rooms do have thin walls so you may get disturbed if you are a light sleeper.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracie0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed two nights during our Fox Glacier experience. Very friendly/helpful hosts! The hotel offers WiFi, with the first 100 mb for free! Comfortable rooms (though somewhat small). It was lovely to have, in our room, a "hot pot" to heat water, a selection of teas and coffee, and a refrigerator with milk for the tea/coffee :) We highly recommend this facility and would stay at Bella Vista/Fox Glacier again.
Wayne & Carol
Peoria, IL U.S.A

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne_Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bvfox, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Hi Wayne & Carol
Thanks for your review. It was a pleasure to have you staying here and hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in New Zealand. Look foward to hosting you again if you're ever in Fox Glacier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

My second experience with Bella Vista after a great night stay in the Hokitika one. We checked in and there was a strong strange smell and we informed the owner. She gave us another room and again had the same smell. When we asked for the first room back (cos it has an extra window and we thought that might help to flush out the smell better) the male host was annoyed and told us that the room was sold. It shocked us when they told us they can give us a refund so that we can get somewhere else ! at last minute ?

We reasoned out that it was just seconds ago and it was not possible it has been sold, they finally relented. It kind of spoiled our mood a little but we decided that we should focused on the fun bit and enjoyed ourselves in fox glacier instead.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovecoffee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fox Glacier
0.2 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
1.1 mi away
High Peaks Hotel
High Peaks Hotel
#6 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake Matheson Motel
Lake Matheson Motel
#1 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#7 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier

Property: Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
Address: 55 Main Road | Main Road, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7859, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Fox Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Fox Glacier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newest accommodation complex in Fox Glacier. Superior accommodation in the heart of the Village. Stroll to restaurants and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing